Possible? Different Tempo Or Pattern Length On Each Track?

Hello,

Althought I have been using conventional sequencers for long, I have no experience with trackers and I wonder if Renoise could be the software I am looking for. I want to create complex polyrythmic/polymetric pieces therefore I need a software able to provide a different number of steps on each track and/or able to provide a different tempo on each track. Is it possible with Renoise or should I look for another software?

Thank you in advance.

No, tracks with varying lengths or tempo are not possible ATM :(

But possible workarounds involve the free Phrazor plugin (a phrase sequencer) or EnergyXT (modular host plugin). Both work fine within Renoise.
Also, there’s an ongoing discussion about how the concept of “clips” will be supported in Renoise. It’s definitely going to become a built-in feature.

Unforetunately, it is not possible with Renoise.
As far as I know, there is no sequencer which supports your wish perfectly.
Maybe you can do such approach with Ableton Live, though I’m not sure…

im struggling to see why it’s needed, i write a lot of stuff with polyrhythms myself and come into no problems, the only way i could see it being of any use is for live performance…

no use for me too, and I’m teh polyrhytmic guy :)

Hmmm…I’d also like to correct my above statement:

If the purpose is to create and modify loops in realtime, it can be done using delays.
Simply record the duration of the loop into a delay with a fully wet signal, and feedback of 100%, and use automation to set the beginning and end points.

The delay will not handle more than 32 beats, but since the overall tempo can be lowered, very long “loops” are possible.

OK, how do you achieve, say, 7 against 16? Or 13 against 15?

please tell,please tell

with the note delay command (0Dxx or Dx on volume/panning column) you can delay the playing of a note of x ticks. this will allow you to place a note “wherever” you want.