Putting Drums To A Guitar Piece?

Hi there!

A friend of mine send me a piece he played on his guitar and asked me if I could put some drums on it.
Now I can try to figure out how long my patterns need to be by just adding a lot and see where they end and then take some off and the take some lines off etc etc.
But is there a faster way to calculate how many patterns/lines you will need?
I’m still no pro if it comes to BPM and speed so any help with this would be more than welcome :)
(my friend didnt know what …beat? he played in cause he played on his feeling) (damn thats a crappy sentence)

i’ve been asked to do a similar thing. unless you programme the drums without a constant bpm in manually in audition or similar (which will probably take forever) you need to warp the track to a constant tempo. you can do this with ableton live. if anybody knows of other software for just doing this i’d like to hear it.

It is usually a huge pain in the ass to add sequenced/tracked drums on top of live material which will naturally drift all over the place. My advice? Save yourself a headache and a lot of wasted time, and get your friend to re-record the guitar piece while he plays along with a fixed metronome of some kind. He doesn’t have to play like a robot, he can still put feeling into his playing, but in most cases he should base his playing around a fixed tempo.

(edit: genfu beat me to it :) )

Re-record it at a fixed bpm would be the best solution.
but you can also chop the riff in the instrument editor and place notes on every 2/4/8th line and then change the tempo till it sounds natural.

I use this way for fast guitar riffs that I can’t play that fast :P

but it kills your sound quality.

Its f’n drone :’)
I think Ill just play it with my trusty td6 drumkit :P
Thanks for the advices.

BTW GENFU!
How do you do that trick in ableton?
Ive got ableton but never used it before, it might come in handy :)