Responding To Vsti Midisource (ivstpluginmidisource) Events?

Hi folks,

I’m a bit new to this, so you’ll have to forgive me if my quetion doesn’t make much sense.

Anyway, I’m attempting to build a VST plugin that sends NoteOn and NoteOff midi messages to the host. It all seems to be going, as far as the debugger tells me- Process is invoked on the host with a MIDI string representing a note (see below for gross technical details) , but the software isn’t registering any note pushes.

So, three questions:

1. Am I going about this the right way? Is Renoise designed to respond to MIDI events from a VST plugin like this?
  2. Is sending a NoteOn all I need to do to play a note?
  3. How do I get it to make noise, even if I get it working? I’m sending pure signal data- no audio. What do I do to assign a sound to my instrument?

I am a new musician, but an old programmer- I’m pretty confident that if it can be done and someone can point me in the right direction I can get this going… :)

Technical stuff- this is my test signal:

invokes Process(event[]) on the host, sends a midi byte array consisting of 0x90 (note on, channel 0), 0x60 (middle C), 0x40 (mid-strength velocity)

Hi again,

I no longer need an answer to 3, assuming samples behave the same way under MIDI instruments as they do with other VSTis :)

Question 1 still stands: Can Renoise respond to MIDI signals sent from a VSTi? Or, to put it another way, can I use a VSTi to add notes to the current track in the pattern editor?

Just to clarify- this question is strictly for the Renoise devs, and VSTi authors- the rest of you can be forgiven if your eyes start to glaze over lol

I will rephrase question 2 a bit…