Routing Midi For Multi-Instrument Like Kontakt

So yeah I’m a total beginner with this thing, but essentially I want to be able to have the midi and the audio routed to specific tracks. I just got Kontakt, so this is me being confused both with Kontakt and Renoise.

Basically I want to be able to use the different instruments in Kontakt on separate tracks so that I can have more control. Does anyone have any experience with this in Renoise?

I am also trying to do the same thing with Battery 3 which purchased at the same time. I totally scored, I just got Battery 3 and Kontakt 2 off E Bay for $40, and got the Kontakt 4 update on the way.

this paragraph should be of help

Hey man thanks that helped a lot.

The problem though was not just with Renoise, but it was also with Kontakt. I had to re-setup kontakt. It was really weird. I ended up finding a video explaining how to reroute Kontakt with Reaper that helped me kind of understand a little more about how Kontakt outputs audio. All fixed now, can’t wait to see what happens next!

yeah, setting up Kontakt routing is a pain. could you please link to the video you have found (I remember I found one in the past but was not really well done), maybe it could be helpful to people with the same problem

Here ya’ go, I hope its helpful to others:

http://tutorialsforreaper.com/2010/08/03/midi-routing-kontakt-4-route-midi-to-vsti-and-back-to-separate-audio-tracks-render-each-instrument-properly/

yeah this was also confuzing for me the first time.

• you first need to set up the outputs within kontakt mixer.
  • after that select withing kontakt per instrument to which output the sound should be sent and which midi channel.
  • then you go to instrument settings within renoise and select which output of kontakt should go to which mixer channel in renoise