Samples Saved In .rns?...

Hi everybody,

i’m new to Renoise (not new to trackers in general) and i have a couple of questions.

1. can samples be saved inside the .rns file (something like a package)?

2. Why the right control-shift-alt keys can not be used for custom shortcuts?
    Do you know if the programmers intend to change this in some future version?

3. How can i go from one pattern to another besides scrolling from one to another?

Thanks in advance

1)Samples are saved inside the rns file, in 1.8 you can even extract them or replace them for compressed equivalents because the .xrns format is a zip archive.

1. modifyer keys are specially controlled and can only be assigned in combination with another shortcut key. Since 1.8, a different way has been applied to the global use of the left side modifyer keys to allow more shortcut key combinations in more areas.

2. ctrl-up and down scrolls between the arranger positions, ctrl-left and right will increase or decrease the current patternnumber in the pattern arranger.
    ctrl-ins to add/insert a new pattern position in the arranger, ctrl-k to clone the current selected pattern…

Have fun!

I know that modifier keys can only be used in combination with another key but what about the right control-shift-alt?

How would you like to trigger play/stop/record then?

Playing from cursor and stopping using spacebar would be perfect.

to do that i believe you press the application key between the right alt and ctrl keys

Yeah but i believe he wants to reassign that function to the spacebar instead of that key.
But because these functions are hardcoded you can’t.
But the modifyer keys are a core element of the keyboard control which make it hard to get such functions reassigned.

That’s exactly what i want to do. That’s something i got using OctaMED for almost 15 years and it so difficult for me to change this habit. I believe you understand what i mean.

Okay enough teasing…
(Assuming you run 1.8)