Sampling basics: 2nd sample does not follow keys

Hello everyone,

Total newbie to sampling. I got a sample from the mic, chopped it a bit, assigned it as C400 as the first Duplex mlrx track (if it matters). Then I sample another from the mic, samples all right, but when playing it from the Renoise keyboard shown in the sample screen, it does not change pitch like the first one did, as different keys are clicked. When assigned to a MIDI keyboard, it still doe snot change pitch, like the first sample did. I looked at most of the small icons and such to see what could be wrong. What gives ? I’d expect that all samples can be played in pitch according to the keyboard. Using Renoise 3.0. - thanks !

This?

9iXTwpx.png

Nope. Enabling it or not does not change anything. The first sample follows nicely the keys’ pitches, but not the second and now, the third. Moreover, I chopped up some extra dead noise at the end of the 3rd sample, and it dropped in pitch - with no way to change the pitch through the keys. I noticed that the horizontal scale of the 3rd sampling goes up to 16 whereas the first one goes up to 9 (end of 8). I can change the scale using the slider, but that does nothing for the pitch and the keys. It seems that it’s not possible to have the exact same workflow and behaviour as the first sampel was created with subsequent samples - there must be something wrong.

I saved the samples, and restarted Renoise. This time I did not load Duplex mlrx (again, if it matters). With a new project, loaded the saved samples, and now they are following the keys. Hmmmm…

Can you upload it? I’m having a hard time following what you’re saying.

I haven’t tried mlrx myself, but it sounds like the tool might be fiddling with the sample’s beatsync property, in order to sync any loops to the song tempo.