Sampling licences

Does any body know anything about sampling drum machines etc and then selling them yourself?for example I have a modified xd-5 and a k4r that I would like to sample and repackage,is it legal to do so?i see inumerable packs of 909s 808s for sale,I presume if it’s a machine that you can make music with without worrying about copyright then it must be safe to sample,if not what’s with all the 909,808,606 packs etc

It’s an interesting question and to me it seems there is no definitive answer that covers it entirely. If there is i’d like to know.

In my opinion i think it shouldn’t be a problem, but my opinion matters very little in legal issues i’m afraid. :stuck_out_tongue:

I’m not a lawyer and it’s advised to simply check with the company yourself. The general guidelines are ‘usually’ the following, it does not matter if software or hardware based. If the sound generation is realtime generated and you have programmed all the sounds yourself it’s normally ok to sample them and use them as own creation, it’s not ok to just sample the default factory sounds. More restricted are usually samplers, romplers. You can’t just sample a Piano for example of Kontakt, but if you have created the source samples yourself and programmed some patches with it, then you’re fine. I did set ‘usually’ in quotes, because i have seen companies trying to forbid this in their EULAS, so i would first check there.

That’s weird tho I mean what about all the 909s and whatnot,not just Roland but just for example