So I Decided To Have A Look At Linux...

Since I use openoffice.org for all my business documents, and renoise has recently made the migration to the platform, I decided to give Ubuntu a go after reading bits and pieces of other peoples experiences on these forums (that and the fact that I was about to do a windows re-installation anyhow, so it seemed to make sense to do it then and there with a clean/fresh dualboot setup)

First off, I’m amazed at how much more it does out of the box than XP; everything except the ATI drivers are installed automatically, and only because they are an option (although I’m getting a message when I open renoise that it failed to create a realtime ALSA thread, not quite sure how to resolve that yet)

I’m completely new to linux other than trying to install an old redhat distro with my father (and not quite getting the results we desired) when I was about 10… I can straight away see and appreciate the amount of effort that has gone into making it accessible to mainstream users and newbies such as myself, and I have to say I can finally see what all the fuss is about.

Having an above average competency with windows some of the file system differences and the whole can of worms with the terminal is a little bit strange to me still after about a week of meddling, but I’m finding answers to almost every question I have with minimal googling effort. The main problem I have at the moment is getting a bearing on what questions I actually need to be asking.

Anyway, just a ramble about my surprise, verging on excitement, with my discovery that linux is getting much closer to being mainstream friendly than I had thought… oh yeah and if anyone has any tips on what I should be googling for to get my ALSA drivers running in realtime as renoise is complaining about I’m all ears. PC specs in signature…

there is a complete guide regarding Linux and Renoise.

regarding your problem, check out the “Realtime Threads” section.