[Solved] Random GUI Lag in OS X Yosemite

Okay, so first off, hello everyone! This is my first post in the Renoise forums. I’ve been producing electronic dance music with Renoise for over three years. Good to finally be here!

Anyway, so this is a recent problem that has somewhat plagued me. This has never happened to me before on OS X Yosemite until a few days ago (and I’ve had the operating system for months, so I don’t think that’s the problem).

I had 3.0.0 when this starting happening. It just… randomly started happening. The master spectrum, scopes, volume meter, the sliders in my device chains, and even the pattern editor have an annoying slower frame rate.

I’ve tried adjusting the frame rate settings in the Renoise preferences, but it doesn’t make a difference to the frame rate unless I turn it like wayyy down. So I updated Renoise to 3.0.1. SAME ISSUE! It’s like I never updated at all! It’s kinda weird, considering I don’t recall ever changing anything in the settings or anything drastic on my computer before it started.

I’ve searched on graphics lag on the forums before posting this, and they all seem to have been caused by plugins. However, I have not added to or deleted any of the existing plugins I already have before it started happening.

Any tips on this? Any help is greatly appreciated! Especially since I’ve got some tracks I really wanna get done!

Thanks!

EDIT: I have (and always have had) 64-bit Renoise.

Hey please isolate more accurately under which circumstances these problems will appear… Did you install a renoise tool/extension, does it happen in other daws, do you do any action like moving a control on a midi device etc

Thank you, Jurek, for your response.

I didn’t install any other Renoise tools or extensions before it started happening. In fact, once it did start happening, I uninstalled some of my tools that I don’t use very much, but it made no difference.

I have no ascertainable graphics lag in GarageBand, my other DAW on my Mac.