Stereo Mix question

I’ve been getting a strange unwanted effect with the stereo mix. I’ll try and explain it as best I can but apologies if I get a few terms wrong/mixed up. I’m no sound engineer.

So I have two tracks, track A and track B. Track A has a stereo mix that confines everything to the centre channel. Track B has a stereo mix that spreads everything out to the sides. Each track sounds fine when played on it’s own, but when I have both tracks playing at the same time, track B seems to be much louder in my right speaker, rather than being equal volume on both sides. What’s happening here?

Sounds like some sort of phase-cancellation issue going on.

Could you upload a small example song that clearly demonstrates the problem?

You should be careful when using the track Width setting, or the Stereo Expander device. They both create a type of fake stereo width effect by shifting the phase of one channel, until eventually at maximum width the left and right channels are 180 degrees out of phase. In some cases, a low amount of extra width can make a sound more interesting, or make it ‘pop’ a bit more in the mix, but in other cases you might actually suffer from phase cancellation problems.

Will be easy to tell what’s going on if you can provide an example song anyway.

Here you go. The sample in question is those really hard amen kicks. You’ll hear what I mean in the third part. It does seem like some sort of phasing thing, especially since you said that the stereo mix creates a fake sort of effect. I thought it literally just panned things out to either side, the same way the panning slider moves the sound to the left or right channel. I guess I just don’t know enough about sounds interacting with each other this way.

http://soundcloud.com/kantelian/ignore-this