Who Djs/vjs?

Just though I ought to start another of those threads where we all learn a little more about each other. You know, keep the community going & all that :D

I play D&B mostly, although in the past I have been know to veer towards trance and even some cheesy house (never played that out though), but eventually decided to stick to where my roots lie - the drum & the bass (with a bit of quality old school now & then)! I guess another reason I wanted to start this topic is because I want to brag about my Allen & Heath XZone32 mixer that I received today… sweet bit of kit with a nifty ‘tap-able’ LFO function and HP,BP & LP filter controls. I just gotta wait for Panasonic to build more 1210MK5’s then I’m gonna learn to scratch (after about 11 years of using my belt driven soundlabs). Been waiting since September though, getting a bit worried about this. Even Panasonic don’t know when they’ll be ready :S

As for VJing, I’m still a beginner, but using Resolume (which has a rather sexy interface not to dissimilar in style from Renoise’s), alongside a Korg control 49, and a DV camera for some real time action. It has certainly given me another hobby to consider. I have my first VJ gig on the 9th, (followed by another on the 23rd) at a regular hardcore night where I plan to also work with pictures & footage from previous events. I just can’t wait for Renoise to have more for MIDI output features so I can sync vids to sounds :)

So what do you all do? Where/what & how do you play?

Well, I work as a DJ sometimes. But usually, I do no “public” performing. I was allowed to mix on the vision parade in Bremen once (infront of 20000 People) but I was too unskilled then. So, I am just mixing sometimes and uploading those mixes from time to time.

But I am in that VJ-Stuff :) Together with DJ Nightflyer I am running a techno-site and we produce music-videos to songs :)

Cool, what do you use?