Writing and integrating a Track DSP

Hi, I have the source code for a mastering processor which I’d like to integrate with Renoise on Linux. I’m having trouble with knowing where to begin (I’m not totally sure it’s possible either!) Has anyone done anything similar?

I’m not new to raw audio development – hence I have DSP code from a broadcast processor. But I am new to putting it into a desktop or music application.

I can see several options for extending Renoise, like LADSPA, DSSI or VST. In the case of VST, the best I could find was a broken link at linux-vst.com so I haven’t even been able to get started. But if I understand correctly, in all these cases I would have to write an independent GUI.

What I really would like is to do is integrate the DSP into Renoise, including its GUI. Easy to use, and so that the controls can be automated etc. like all of the other “Track DSPs”. Is this possible, and is there some pointer on where to begin – perhaps some documentation, or suggestion?

Do I have to write some kind of VST and front-end it with a script, or can I write a “Track DSP” plugin?

I can appreciate maybe this part of Renoise may not be extensible, in which case what is going to be my best compromise? Any advice appreciated, thanks.

Hi Mark,

from !Introduction.txt:

What's *NOT* possible with Renoise tools:  

- Change Renoise's existing behaviour. Like, you can't make all C-4s in the  
pattern editor yellow instead of white. You can write your own pattern  
editor, but not change the existing one.  

- Realtime access. Except for OSC and MIDI IO, you can't write scripts that  
run in the audio player. In other words, you can not script new realtime  
DSPs - yet. But you can, for example, write a tool that creates samples or  
manipulates existing samples. This limitation might change in the future.  
For now you can make a VST, AudioUnit, or LADSPA/DSSI plug-in.