Jump to content


Photo

New Tool: Progressor


  • Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

#51 phuture

phuture

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 October 2011 - 11:26

oh man totally missed the updates!!, i thought when i used the 'tool update tool' i wouldn't have to worry bout these things!!!

anyway, awesome, you rawk sir, indeed!

#52 entropia

entropia

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Posted 07 October 2011 - 11:36

my jaw just dropped

Incredible tool !
Canenero on myspace


Max/msp sketchbook blog



http://soundcloud.com/canenero/nessu

#53 Guest_Bantai_*

Guest_Bantai_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 October 2011 - 12:09

oh man totally missed the updates!!, i thought when i used the 'tool update tool' i wouldn't have to worry bout these things!!!


Since v0.5 the ID field in manifest.xml has changed from com.Laffik.Progressor to com.renoise.Progressor. There are 2 problems with that:

1) com.renoise is reserved for Renoise team members
2) the Tool Update Tool uses the ID field to look for updates

I'm not sure how to solve this mix up of IDs. In fact it should not have been possible to upload an update with a mismatching ID...

EDIT:

I think Progressor v0.5 was the first version uploaded to tools.renoise.com. If you downloaded an older version of Progressor from the forum you will have an ID mix up. In that case you'll need to install the latest version manually, from then on the updates will come in automatically.

It's not a good idea to change the ID now anymore. But I'll add a validation rule for new tools.

#54 Laffik

Laffik

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:digital music

Posted 07 October 2011 - 14:49

Gosh! I look like ugly pushy pusher now...
Majority of tools I've got installed are signed com.renoise so I didn't want to stand out any more after naming it com.Laffik on the beginning.
I would upload the tool renamed to com.Laffik again but you say it's not good idea to change ID anymore.
So what to do now?
Do nothing or welcome me in Renoise Team :excl:
Laffik's mp3 downloads webpage:
http://www.laffik.com/

#55 Guest_Bantai_*

Guest_Bantai_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 October 2011 - 14:57

Well... Welcome to the Renoise Team!

But seriously, don't worry and leave the ID com.renoise for Progressor. It's my job to prevent this from happening with new tools.

#56 Laffik

Laffik

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:digital music

Posted 08 October 2011 - 07:11

@phuture & entropia:
Thanks! I love your appreciation!

I changed ID again. It is com.Laffik now. Sorry for mess...
Laffik's mp3 downloads webpage:
http://www.laffik.com/

#57 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 03 November 2011 - 04:53

had a bug:

'C:\Users\plugexpert\AppData\Roaming\Renoise\V2.7.2\Scripts\Tools\com.Laffik.Progressor.xrnx\main.lua' failed in one of its notifiers.

Please contact the author (Laffik) for assistance...

main.lua:4569: attempt to index field '?' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
main.lua:4569: in function 'findmatching'
main.lua:4664: in function 'attachchords'
main.lua:4925: in function <main.lua:4923>


edit:

I think the problem occurs when there is a change in pattern length within the range that is progressing.

Edited by Jonas, 03 November 2011 - 04:56.


#58 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 06 November 2011 - 16:54

Hey laffik, reading about composition one often comes across 'the circle of 5ths' ( http://en.wikipedia....ircle_of_fifths ), is this something you can somehow implement in a progressor-like tool?

#59 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2532 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests:// Free Energy // Cymatics // Sound visualization // Sustainable energy production // Apple devices // Tesla Motors //

Posted 06 November 2011 - 16:55

Hey laffik, reading about composition one often comes across 'the circle of 5ths' ( http://en.wikipedia....ircle_of_fifths ), is this something you can somehow implement in a progressor-like tool?


This times a quadrillion million billion gazillion. Yes.
Laffik, can you do it?

| lackluster Website | lackluster on bandcamp | lackluster on facebooklackluster on soundcloud | esaruoho on twitter |

esaruoho@gmail.comesaruoho on reddit | esaruoho on ello | 

| OS X 10.11 El Capitan | Mac Book Pro 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo / 8GB 1067 MHz DDR3 |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;)

#60 Laffik

Laffik

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:digital music

Posted 06 November 2011 - 20:37

How to reproduce the bug? I've done the tests on patterns with different lengths and it worked. Send me the .xrns. What is the configuration of controls?
Laffik's mp3 downloads webpage:
http://www.laffik.com/

#61 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 07 November 2011 - 02:25

How to reproduce the bug? I've done the tests on patterns with different lengths and it worked. Send me the .xrns. What is the configuration of controls?


been running a lot of tracks lately and can't remember which one gave me the error, also noticed myself that patterns with different lengths weren't the problem after I tested it later. I remember making a pattern selection in the sequence list (on the complete left of the pattern editor / matrix) slightly overlapping the range of your tool, might be a conflict there? Will try if I can reproduce in a test track...

#62 Laffik

Laffik

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:digital music

Posted 08 November 2011 - 21:21

a propos circle of fifth - I've got idea of tool for lead improvisations. It could be good fusion with Progressor. Tool would have intervals sorted by consonance - kind of separate circles for each interval. It would be randomly and recursively generating tunes in area of consonances and dissonances.

Edited by Laffik, 09 November 2011 - 23:44.

  • Djeroek and esaruoho like this
Laffik's mp3 downloads webpage:
http://www.laffik.com/

#63 Roppenzo

Roppenzo

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 450 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 09 November 2011 - 21:44

i don't understand this tool? can anyone make a vid of what it does?

Edited by Roppenzo, 09 November 2011 - 21:45.

  • esaruoho and jack of all trades like this
House Music All Night Long. - Say What?

#64 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2532 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests:// Free Energy // Cymatics // Sound visualization // Sustainable energy production // Apple devices // Tesla Motors //

Posted 09 November 2011 - 22:40

i don't understand this tool? can anyone make a vid of what it does?


I think a video would better open this script up for me too!

| lackluster Website | lackluster on bandcamp | lackluster on facebooklackluster on soundcloud | esaruoho on twitter |

esaruoho@gmail.comesaruoho on reddit | esaruoho on ello | 

| OS X 10.11 El Capitan | Mac Book Pro 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo / 8GB 1067 MHz DDR3 |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;)

#65 Laffik

Laffik

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:digital music

Posted 09 November 2011 - 23:46

Esaruoho can make the vid about Progressor. He's into it. He even posted one feature request some time ago.

Ouh! Are you rather talking about the lead tool idea?

...

whatever...

Edited by Laffik, 11 November 2011 - 19:23.

Laffik's mp3 downloads webpage:
http://www.laffik.com/

#66 Laffik

Laffik

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:digital music

Posted 11 November 2011 - 19:26

Here is short update for Progressor:

bugfix:
- "copy note off" function didn't copy last note off in progression range when "finish on prime" was selected

tiny new feature:
- script copies note delays from lead track

how to use it:
- sequence the theme in one track in one or few patterns in playlist (patterns shouldn't occure in playlist range more than once)
- leave cursor/caret in track containing the theme
- choose instrument for progression from the instruments list
- run Progressor
- set the range, key, scale and other parameters (or leave default)
- click on Match or Match&Close - new track containing chord progression will be generated

Here's new version for Renoise 2.7 users:
Attached File  Progressor_v072.xrnx   14.39KB   72 downloads
and here for those, who got still 2.6:
Attached File  Progressor_v071.xrnx   14.39KB   72 downloads
Laffik's mp3 downloads webpage:
http://www.laffik.com/

#67 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 12 November 2011 - 22:22

had a bug:

'C:\Users\plugexpert\AppData\Roaming\Renoise\V2.7.2\Scripts\Tools\com.Laffik.Progressor.xrnx\main.lua' failed in one of its notifiers.

Please contact the author (Laffik) for assistance...

std::logic_error: 'trying to access a no longer available pattern_line note column.'
stack traceback:
[C]: ?
[C]: in function '__index'
[string "do..."]:12: in function <[string "do..."]:11>
main.lua:4640: in function 'attachchords'
main.lua:4939: in function <main.lua:4937>



range: 21 - 36
c major
no skipping
voices 3
No arp: enabled
dissonances: none
finish on prime: enabled
copy note offs: enabled

song: 174 bpm
lbp: 8


In the sequence list, I have a jump from pattern 32, and the next being 35! If I sort and delete unused patterns I get the following notice:

Please contact the author (Laffik) for assistance...

std::logic_error: 'trying to access a no longer available pattern_line note column.'
stack traceback:
[C]: ?
[C]: in function '__index'
[string "do..."]:12: in function <[string "do..."]:11>
main.lua:4639: in function 'attachchords'
main.lua:4939: in function <main.lua:4937>


Only pattern 32 has chords in the newly created track. The track I'm trying to progress has note events spread over 3 columns, and I have the cursor in the first.

Edited by Jonas, 13 November 2011 - 04:09.


#68 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 13 November 2011 - 04:17

Another one:

'C:\Users\plugexpert\AppData\Roaming\Renoise\V2.7.2\Scripts\Tools\com.Laffik.Progressor.xrnx\main.lua' failed in one of its notifiers.

Please contact the author (Laffik) for assistance...

std::logic_error: 'trying to access a no longer available pattern_line note column.'
stack traceback:
[C]: ?
[C]: in function '__index'
[string "do..."]:12: in function <[string "do..."]:11>
main.lua:4641: in function 'attachchords'
main.lua:4939: in function <main.lua:4937>


strangely out of the set range of 4 patterns, 2 and a half have gotten progressed chords.

Again the track I tried to progress, had notes events spread over 3 columns and I had the cursor on the first. If I minimize the particular track to only having one column and then progress using the same settings as before, all is progressed fine without any bugnotice/errors!

#69 Laffik

Laffik

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:digital music

Posted 13 November 2011 - 11:55

I've reproduced the error. Are you using Progressor 0.7? Just to make sure which line is wrong.

anyway...

I think it's 07. I fixed the error altough I have no idea why was it occuring. I replaced:

     renoise.song().patterns[pattern].tracks[trackindex+1].lines[line].note_columns[1].delay_value=renoise.song().patterns[pattern].tracks[trackindex].lines[line].note_columns[1].delay_value
     renoise.song().patterns[pattern].tracks[trackindex+1].lines[line].note_columns[2].delay_value=renoise.song().patterns[pattern].tracks[trackindex].lines[line].note_columns[1].delay_value
     renoise.song().patterns[pattern].tracks[trackindex+1].lines[line].note_columns[3].delay_value=renoise.song().patterns[pattern].tracks[trackindex].lines[line].note_columns[1].delay_value
with this:

aa=  renoise.song().patterns[pattern].tracks[trackindex].lines[line].note_columns[1].delay_value
   renoise.song().patterns[pattern].tracks[trackindex+1].lines[line].note_columns[1].delay_value=aa
     renoise.song().patterns[pattern].tracks[trackindex+1].lines[line].note_columns[2].delay_value=aa
     renoise.song().patterns[pattern].tracks[trackindex+1].lines[line].note_columns[3].delay_value=aa

and it works. Looks like internal Renoise error. Is it possible? Am I wrong? Some kind of allergy for using direct copying values? Why do I need to buffer the value in aa to not get this error? IDK...

Here is the update:

Edited by Laffik, 13 November 2011 - 12:16.

Laffik's mp3 downloads webpage:
http://www.laffik.com/

#70 Laffik

Laffik

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:digital music

Posted 13 November 2011 - 12:19

Attached File  Progressor_v082.xrnx   14.4KB   67 downloads
Attached File  Progressor_v081.xrnx   14.4KB   57 downloads

This version of Progressor matches progressions only for a tune in one column in one track yet.
Still not sure about first error.
How to reproduce the first error?

Edited by Laffik, 13 November 2011 - 12:28.

  • Djeroek likes this
Laffik's mp3 downloads webpage:
http://www.laffik.com/

#71 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 13 November 2011 - 13:14

I had both old & new version progressor installed (leftovers from your script naming mishap / .com or not), but I'm pretty sure all the errors were encountered in the newest version. Anyway, I have de-installed both, and installed your newest update.

#72 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 03 December 2011 - 21:53

had a bug notice:

'C:\Users\plugexpert\AppData\Roaming\Renoise\V2.7.2\Scripts\Tools\com.Laffik.Progressor.xrnx\main.lua' failed in one of its notifiers.

Please contact the author (Laffik) for assistance...

main.lua:4569: attempt to index field '?' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
main.lua:4569: in function 'findmatching'
main.lua:4680: in function 'attachchords'
main.lua:4941: in function <main.lua:4939>


edit:

I tried to progress 4 patterns, each 224 lines long of the vsti Oatmeal. The particular preset was monophonic, changing it to polyphonic and trying to progress again (+ also changing the the prime toggle) did work.

Edited by Jonas, 03 December 2011 - 22:09.


#73 Laffik

Laffik

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:digital music

Posted 04 December 2011 - 10:37

Does this error occure everytime with some conditions or it happens sometimes from time to time even if conditions are the same?
I've tried to progress 4 224 lines long patterns containing some notes and it works flawlessly. I think it's not enough to reproduce the error.
Does the progressed track contain any special notes, like note off's, very low or very high notes, something unusual?
If the error occure sometimes in module you work with send me the .xrns and full configuration of Progressor controls, to let me reproduce the error.
Otherwise I would have to dig in the script not having clue what is wrong. Even if I checked everything twice some errors could occure altough each line was good.
There must be something special in your track because the script was tested many times and worked perfectly. This could be some combination of notes following each other, some special notes et.c.
If error occures sometimes, regardless to conditions it could be Renoise internal error too.
Can you send the .xrns?
Laffik's mp3 downloads webpage:
http://www.laffik.com/

#74 Laffik

Laffik

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:digital music

Posted 04 December 2011 - 11:15

Ok. I think I got this error. I've got error in line that is shown in your error notice. Modulo formula was written bad which caused progressions not calculated properly in key of B in some cases. Altough I still think it shouldn't cause the crash. Anyway, here's the update:
Attached File  Progressor_v092.xrnx   14.41KB   70 downloads
Attached File  Progressor_v091.xrnx   14.41KB   67 downloads
Should work better now.

Edited by Laffik, 04 December 2011 - 11:20.

Laffik's mp3 downloads webpage:
http://www.laffik.com/

#75 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 04 December 2011 - 12:07

Thanks!