Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (2.7 - 3.1): Set Track Width To Active Columns


  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#26 Drop Shadow

Drop Shadow

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen

Posted 28 March 2013 - 01:19

A minor bug, I think...

1. Open Renoise
2. Create an extra track column in Track 1.
3. Show the panning column
4. Insert "C-4" in first column
5. insert "M0" in the second column's panning column. Something like this:

C-4 00 .. .. --- M0 ..

6. Now use the tool

Result: the instrument number in column 1 will be cleared.

I think the tool should never hide a column if a Mx (Send MIDI command) is in it. It will properly change the way the song sounds (which you would never want when using this tool).

Edited by Drop Shadow, 28 March 2013 - 19:49.


#27 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3655 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 April 2013 - 18:19

A minor bug, I think...



Thanks for the report, I have checked this and confirmed it here. It is indeed a strange one and as far as I can tell has two elements to it:

The first seems to be the buggy behaviour which I guess is a problem with the API method:

renoise.song():track(foo).visible_note_columns = bar

set track bug 1.JPG

goes to:

set track bug 2.JPG

When setting the two columns to one is where the instrument number gets deleted. I will pass this onto the devs.

The second part is an update I should be able to modify myself so MIDI commands etc are respected. I`ll see what I can do.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#28 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3655 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 April 2013 - 20:16

The second part is an update I should be able to modify myself so MIDI commands etc are respected. I`ll see what I can do.


I`ve now uploaded a new renoise 2.8 version which should take care of this. Let me know how you get on Drop Shadow.

http://www.renoise.c...-active-columns

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#29 Drop Shadow

Drop Shadow

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen

Posted 08 April 2013 - 23:42

I`ve now uploaded a new renoise 2.8 version which should take care of this. Let me know how you get on Drop Shadow.

http://www.renoise.c...-active-columns

Thanks a lot. It seems you solved the problem.

However, I just ran into a bug. Try the tool on the attached song. It will give you this error:
'C:\Users\VV\AppData\Roaming\Renoise\V2.8.1\Scripts\Tools\ledger.scripts.SetTrackToActiveColumns.xrnx\main.lua' failed in one of its notifiers.
The notifier will be disabled to prevent further errors.

Please contact the author (Ledger) for assistance...

.\Process_slicer.lua:111: std::logic_error: 'invalid note_column index '12'. no note_column's are available. 0 may be allowed.'
stack traceback:
  [C]: in function 'error'
  .\Process_slicer.lua:111: in function <.\Process_slicer.lua:98>
Don't know what it means...

Attached Files

  • Attached File  x.xrns   12.97KB   205 downloads


#30 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3655 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 November 2013 - 05:36

Thanks a lot. It seems you solved the problem.

However, I just ran into a bug. Try the tool on the attached song. It will give you this error:

'C:\Users\VV\AppData\Roaming\Renoise\V2.8.1\Scripts\Tools\ledger.scripts.SetTrackToActiveColumns.xrnx\main.lua' failed in one of its notifiers.
The notifier will be disabled to prevent further errors.

Please contact the author (Ledger) for assistance...

.\Process_slicer.lua:111: std::logic_error: 'invalid note_column index '12'. no note_column's are available. 0 may be allowed.'
stack traceback:
  [C]: in function 'error'
  .\Process_slicer.lua:111: in function <.\Process_slicer.lua:98>
Don't know what it means...


Sorry about the slow fix for this but I`ve had another burst of scripting and am now tidying up old loose ends in older scripts. This was a bit of a strange bug as the xrnx you posted one of the unsequenced patterns contained no columns. This may well be a bug in renoise or a corrupt file or something. I`ll look at it some more and pass it on somewhere.

Anyway the script now catches it in 1.27

http://www.renoise.c...-active-columns

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#31 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3655 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 November 2013 - 15:09

This was a bit of a strange bug as the xrnx you posted one of the unsequenced patterns contained no columns. This may well be a bug in renoise or a corrupt file or something. I`ll look at it some more and pass it on somewhere.


Just spoke to taktik about this and it appears the posted song x.xrns was broken.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#32 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3655 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 February 2014 - 19:48

3.0 Version uploaded on tools page:

http://www.renoise.c...-active-columns

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#33 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3655 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 January 2015 - 00:29

NEW BETA (1.3)

 

-New GUI

-Now optionally hides empty fx columns; with option to leave at least one if you like the visual track bordering/buffering

-Less Shortcuts + menus for tidyness

 

post-428-0-26891400-1421536969.png

 

http://forum.renoise...ns/#entry223268


  • piranhatron2000 likes this

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#34 crazya02

crazya02

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 592 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Game dev, Game playing, Music dev, Music playing

Posted 25 November 2015 - 03:15

Would it be possible for you to update it for 3.1? This script was really great for visual cleanup.


sig.gif<p>Processor: AMD A10-7850K Radeon R7, 12 Compute Cores 4C+8G 3.70 GHz RAM: 16.0 GB OS: Windows 10

#35 4Tey

4Tey

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 November 2015 - 08:12

Try this version, seems to work for me under R3.1b  (But don't tell Ledger! :D )

 

Oh drat, Ledger found out about my subtle modification!  Well the limelight lasted a few hours I suppose :D


Edited by 4Tey, 25 November 2015 - 16:59.


#36 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3655 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 November 2015 - 15:59

Thanks 4Tey,

 

I`ve updated the original post and tools page with a newer 1.32 as I had added a small modification that makes the button read "Busy" when the tool is working for next release. 

 

http://forum.renoise...ns/#entry223268


Edited by Ledger, 25 November 2015 - 16:11.

  • crazya02 and 4Tey like this

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#37 clairobscur

clairobscur

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 January 2016 - 10:38

Hi,

 

This tool is one of my favourite but for whatever reason it has disappeared from the Pattern context menu. It is accessible from the Tools menu however. It's been like this for a while, maybe since the 3.0.1 update and it's still not working in 3.1. I tried uninstalling/reinstalling, disabling all other tools, but it didn't fix the problem.

Would you have an idea as to why it disappeared? Thanks in advance.



#38 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3655 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 January 2016 - 18:27

Hi clairobscur,

 

As of  v1.32 of the tool, when I added the GUI, I removed the pattern menu shortcuts for neatness.  There is a shortcut `Set Track Widths To Active Columns` available so that the GUI can be called up quickly if needed:
 

v1.32

 

-New GUI

-Now optionally hides empty fx columns; with option to leave at least one if you like the visual track bordering/buffering 

-Less Shortcuts + menus for tidyness 

 

Menu: Tools: Ledger`s Scripts: Set Track Widths To Active Columns

or

Shortcut: Set Track Widths To Active Columns

 


--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#39 clairobscur

clairobscur

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 January 2016 - 22:22

Hi clairobscur,

 

As of  v1.32 of the tool, when I added the GUI, I removed the pattern menu shortcuts for neatness.  There is a shortcut `Set Track Widths To Active Columns` available so that the GUI can be called up quickly if needed:
 

 

I apologize for missing that piece of information. Thank you for your reply!



#40 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3655 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 January 2016 - 03:18

No problem, the info is a bit hidden away in the first post in the spoiler button (like below) 

 

Spoiler


Edited by Ledger, 24 January 2016 - 03:19.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#41 Guest_ffx_*

Guest_ffx_*

    Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3521 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 23 February 2016 - 18:36

Hey ledger,

 

would be nice if the tool was also removing empty columns before an active column within a track... :)

 

You could also add that code then to your tool "split into separate tracks" (which is very slow btw., did you use a interval to do stuff, so its same slow on all machines, to prevent execution overload?)

 

EDIT: Oh, that tool was by fladd.


Edited by ffx, 23 February 2016 - 20:33.

  • fladd likes this

#42 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3655 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 February 2016 - 19:39

Hey ledger,

 

would be nice if the tool was also removing empty columns before an active column within a track... :)

 

 

All suggestions noted, but tool updates are snails pace here at the moment unfortunately..


  • Guest_ffx_* likes this

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#43 kopias

kopias

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Łask, Poland

Posted 18 November 2016 - 09:18

bug on linux at line 6 (on unix letter case matters):

change

require "Process_slicer"

to

require "process_slicer" 


#44 joule

joule

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1862 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 21 November 2016 - 17:37

@Ledger,

 

I took the liberty of trying to severely optimize the scanning. Have a look to see if it's working all right. I skipped the process slicer since it seems so fast anyway, and fixed a GUI bug happening when reopening the window.

 

EDIT: Added a toggle for optimizing vol/pan/dly column visibility.

 

Attached File  ledger.scripts.SetTrackToActiveColumns.xrnx   3KB   141 downloads


Edited by joule, 22 November 2016 - 14:41.

  • Ledger and Guest_ffx_* like this

#45 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3655 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 November 2016 - 00:52

Thanks joule, will take a look

 

 

 

 

 

 

bug on linux at line 6 (on unix letter case matters):

change

require "Process_slicer"

to

require "process_slicer"

 

Thanks kopias, will take a look here too


Edited by Ledger, 26 November 2016 - 01:13.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#46 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3655 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 December 2016 - 06:07

@Ledger,

 

I took the liberty of trying to severely optimize the scanning. Have a look to see if it's working all right. I skipped the process slicer since it seems so fast anyway, and fixed a GUI bug happening when reopening the window.

 

EDIT: Added a toggle for optimizing vol/pan/dly column visibility.

 

attachicon.gifledger.scripts.SetTrackToActiveColumns.xrnx

 

I have updated the tools page with the process slicer fix and also linked the OP to your post here joule.  So far it seems to work great, but I`ll try and have a scan over the code soon just to familiarise myself with the changes, then update the tools page.


Edited by Ledger, 24 December 2016 - 06:09.

  • joule likes this

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#47 joule

joule

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1862 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 30 April 2018 - 12:08

Did you test drive it yet? :) I think you should update the official version with it, if there isn't any problem. It's so much faster.


  • El°HYM likes this

#48 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3655 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 May 2018 - 12:45

Did you test drive it yet? :) I think you should update the official version with it, if there isn't any problem. It's so much faster.

 

Sorry, forgot about this :).  I did start looking at the code a while ago, but got a bit stuck decifering your string technique, then never got round to looking again.  Anyhow, i`ve just updated tool page with 1.34 and your improvements.

 

Thanks for adding them.

 

----------------------------------

http://www.renoise.c...-active-columns

 

v1.34 Joule`s speed and GUI improvements added


Edited by Ledger, 04 May 2018 - 13:57.

  • joule likes this

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#49 joule

joule

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1862 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 05 May 2018 - 12:03

It's just scanning the line string by the relevant offsets instead of iterating the standard note/effect columns. My feeling is that when you on average have to read a line more than, say maybe three times, it's faster to access the line string and use string functions to get the values.

 

Hmm... It's also possible to optimize this tool further by not scanning patterntrack aliases :P



#50 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3655 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 May 2018 - 13:38

I see,  just got a bit lost in the details if I remember.

 

Feel free to upload more optimisations :)

 

though it does work pretty fast now how it is!


Edited by Ledger, 05 May 2018 - 13:39.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites