Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

make note lengths more visible in pattern editor


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 toimp

toimp

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 511 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Music, music, music ...

Posted 09 March 2014 - 13:02

I'm note sure, if this was already suggested, but it would be great when the notes length would be more visible in pattern editor. I attached a screenshot comparing sunvox vs renoise.

Attached Images

  • notelength.gif

  • Cas likes this

#2 Syflom

Syflom

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 09 March 2014 - 13:29

Nice idea. how do you think it should look in Renoise?

In the beginning was the Word
 My XRNX tools: Loop Block Size, Write BPM, Sustain Instrument
Renoise my suggestions: sample pause command, continually paste within selection, advanced edit resize
OS: Windows and OS X


#3 toimp

toimp

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 511 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Music, music, music ...

Posted 09 March 2014 - 13:42

There are different possibilities. Maybe simply darker colors or change it to a symbol similar like in sunvox.

#4 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 09 March 2014 - 13:46

+1

maybe with some kind of gradient to show volume changes, but then whats stopping the devs for showing a vertical waveform display in or next to the tracks? :-) Better keep it simple like sunvox.

#5 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3446 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 March 2014 - 14:33

Here`s a couple of rough mock-ups I suggested for this issue before:

The first with dashes was my neatest attempt:

Posted Image



this next two more piano-rollish (but not pretty) allows you to drag the note-offs via the handles on the corners of the boxes:

Posted Image

Now with waveform:

Posted Image
  • dblue and Cas like this

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#6 toimp

toimp

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 511 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Music, music, music ...

Posted 09 March 2014 - 14:52

The last one with waveform display would be great, when you doing some 0Sxx stuff, but its also quite complicate to implement when this is combined with 0Bxx and other fx parameters and looping. The waveform needs to be prerendered for this. I think this would be too much. The dash concept would be good enough and simple, but it should fill the 3 chars.

Edited by toimp, 09 March 2014 - 14:57.

  • Djeroek likes this

#7 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3446 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 March 2014 - 15:01

The dash concept would be good enough and simple, but it should fill the 3 chars.


I think this is the most practical one aswell, though having one dash is better IMO as it makes the note space immediatly recognisable.
  • Cas likes this

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#8 florian

florian

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 708 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn, NY USA
  • Interests:sampling, drums, bikes, video... .... cats.

Posted 09 March 2014 - 19:14

it's a cool idea.

i'm wondering: does the block length appear when you put a note-off in a column below an entry, or do all entries automatically have this?


if it's the latter, it sounds like kind of a complicated undertaking. how do plugins behave? most samples wouldn't be of a length that makes them neatly end on a new line, is this information relevant to be displayed somehow, or does the block just go to the end of the current line where a sample ends?
-----
black
skwrl
-----

#9 Paurini

Paurini

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rotorua, Aotearoa
  • Interests:Funk

Posted 10 March 2014 - 04:44

Here`s a couple of rough mock-ups I suggested for this issue before:

The first with dashes was my neatest attempt:

Posted Image



this next two more piano-rollish (but not pretty) allows you to drag the note-offs via the handles on the corners of the boxes:

Posted Image

Now with waveform:

Posted Image


WOW this is awesome. Although personally i would like to see waveform display as an option as it kinda goes against the whole tracker timeline.
Draggable handles on selected notes would be awesome - i think it would help in being able to see more clearly note structure and help in faster
note data entry. I wonder if it would work on the whole timeline for any sort of data? SHIFT + DRAG interpolates to dragged selection etc...
1: Intel i7-4700M 3.4Ghz Max, 8GB RAM. 2: Intel i7-3770 3.9Ghz Max, 8GB RAM. Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr. Renoise 3.

#10 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 977 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 March 2014 - 08:49

+ coloured by its frequency like
Posted Image
  • fraktal and toblerpone like this

#11 ffx

ffx

    Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3035 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:macOS fanboying

Posted 10 March 2014 - 13:39

Hm, I would prefer just blocks drawn using some custom color and maybe a bit alpha blending. IMO dashes and also line dashes --- result in an unsettled view for the eyes. Blocks and filled solids are much faster to conceive while work than dashes, outlines etc. Drawing waveforms would require a lot of precalculations and I doubt this is possible for 3.0.

I would prefer something like this:
Posted Image

Or this:
Posted Image
  • anko and fraktal like this
MacOS 10.12.6 Retina, Renoise 3.1 64 bit   -   Tuned Shortcuts | Multi-Jump From/To Send | Quick Template | Insert Native DSP Menu (incl. deprecated)
HM Soundcloud | HM Bandcamp

#12 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3446 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 March 2014 - 18:36

it's a cool idea.

i'm wondering: does the block length appear when you put a note-off in a column below an entry, or do all entries automatically have this?


if it's the latter, it sounds like kind of a complicated undertaking. how do plugins behave? most samples wouldn't be of a length that makes them neatly end on a new line, is this information relevant to be displayed somehow, or does the block just go to the end of the current line where a sample ends?


I`d guess when you put a note-off in.

Hm, I would prefer just blocks drawn using some custom color and maybe a bit alpha blending. IMO dashes and also line dashes --- result in an unsettled view for the eyes. Blocks and filled solids are much faster to conceive while work than dashes, outlines etc. Drawing waveforms would require a lot of precalculations and I doubt this is possible for 3.0.

I would prefer something like this:
Posted Image

Or this:
Posted Image


Blocks could work like this too though they would need to be separable from pattern selection.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#13 triple zero

triple zero

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts

Posted 11 March 2014 - 01:17

+1 for blocks, slightly translucent. Also, 1 or 2px inset and 1 or 2px rounded, to visually distinguish them from block selections (cause you need to be able to see both a selection and a note-region simultaneously)

#14 Cas

Cas

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1719 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 March 2014 - 02:48

The blocks should also stop though when the sample stops - this should not be too much calculations I think and it helps a lot if you're able to see where in time your samples start and stop.
And if we're doing this the pattern matrix blocks can also be a lot better detailed (instead of just meh lines '___' where a note on is, such that even an empty block where a looped samples plays on with autoseek, can still generate sound :))

music: SoundCloud drumkits: WizzKit no. 01 (thread), 02 (thread), 03 (thread), 04
tutorials: Beat Creators, Drum Synthesis examples
tools: download@box, info@blog, fork@git, discuss@forum
___________

BCF2000, LP S, MPK, nPad2, nKtrl2, NI KA6, Vortex, SP-404SX

Renoise, NI Reaktor


#15 toblerpone

toblerpone

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 904 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location::c

Posted 11 March 2014 - 06:50

Would be cool if you had the option to have different background colours for the notes in an octave and also have this with the same pattern effect commands.


Edited by toblerpone, 02 April 2016 - 15:40.


#16 ffx

ffx

    Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3035 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:macOS fanboying

Posted 26 January 2016 - 00:03

Just like this:

 

 

 

Note length is displayed as block. Zoom don't have to be (of course would be nice).

Advantages:
 

- No more ugly note-off command

- Mouse length control

- Length can be shorter than one line

- Much better in visibility

- Launch into future


Edited by ffx, 26 January 2016 - 00:03.

MacOS 10.12.6 Retina, Renoise 3.1 64 bit   -   Tuned Shortcuts | Multi-Jump From/To Send | Quick Template | Insert Native DSP Menu (incl. deprecated)
HM Soundcloud | HM Bandcamp

#17 Robbie S

Robbie S

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 632 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:• You are here
  • Interests:robbieshirts.com

Posted 26 January 2016 - 11:03

I like the idea to be able to show the note-length. So far, the slight transparent block is the most appealing suggestion.

 

However, if ever implemented, PLEASE make it optional / toggable. So that you can chose if you want it the way it looks now or the new UI.

 

I also like the idea to click & draw directly on the pattern to define how long the note should be (instead or scrolling down to where the "Off" should be and set it there). Maybe not too easy to implement, but would help workflow a bit.

 

KTHXBAI,