Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Phrase Editor

add sample number

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 ballacr75

ballacr75

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cremona - Italy
  • Interests:Music, boomerang, lego, airplane RC.
    http://www.acadballa.com

Posted 05 August 2014 - 07:41

Hi,

why not add sample column in the phrase editor (like instrument column in track editor) where you can program wich sample is played for each row?


|Emanuele Ballasina|ballacr75|www.acadballa.com|Renoise 3.0.0|Reason 7.1|Yamaha Motif ES 6|plg150an|dx|vl|Yamaha FS1r|Access Virus TI|Kurzweil PC3 61|Nord Stage 2 HA88|Mutable Instruments Shruthi1|Cremona|Italy|

#2 LOLFAIL

LOLFAIL

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 296 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:outta space

Posted 05 August 2014 - 07:51

well you can, use keyzones and octave up and down, you can program even for example oneshot drumkit and bassline in one phrase

 

phrases is stored within instrument (xrni) it would be odd if an instrument had stored another instrument, yo dawg...


Edited by LOLFAIL, 05 August 2014 - 07:53.


#3 ballacr75

ballacr75

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cremona - Italy
  • Interests:Music, boomerang, lego, airplane RC.
    http://www.acadballa.com

Posted 05 August 2014 - 14:35

I don't mean this, I want to emulate korg wavestation sounds, with all sample assigned to full keyrange, but I want that if I play a chord, you ear a sample at a time, just like in wavesequencing. (sorry but I can't attach an xrns or zip example file, dou you know why?)


Edited by ballacr75, 05 August 2014 - 14:37.

|Emanuele Ballasina|ballacr75|www.acadballa.com|Renoise 3.0.0|Reason 7.1|Yamaha Motif ES 6|plg150an|dx|vl|Yamaha FS1r|Access Virus TI|Kurzweil PC3 61|Nord Stage 2 HA88|Mutable Instruments Shruthi1|Cremona|Italy|

#4 ballacr75

ballacr75

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cremona - Italy
  • Interests:Music, boomerang, lego, airplane RC.
    http://www.acadballa.com

Posted 06 August 2014 - 15:17

Look at this example:

Attached Files


|Emanuele Ballasina|ballacr75|www.acadballa.com|Renoise 3.0.0|Reason 7.1|Yamaha Motif ES 6|plg150an|dx|vl|Yamaha FS1r|Access Virus TI|Kurzweil PC3 61|Nord Stage 2 HA88|Mutable Instruments Shruthi1|Cremona|Italy|

#5 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 06 August 2014 - 16:51

why not add sample column in the phrase editor (like instrument column in track editor) where you can program wich sample is played for each row?

 
I like the idea but would I think having sample numbers would be confusing. Looking a bit too much like instrument numbers :-)
 
I'd prefer if phrases instead had the (optional) ability to lock to a specific sample per note column - independently of the keyzone 
That would make it really easy to have a visual overview when programming beats, too. 

Of course, the downside to this approach would be the limitation we have on the number of columns that can be created (12). Playing a chord with the same sample would become quite tricky then - maybe the sample number approach isn't so bad after all :-D
 
Edit: oh, and I thought that wavestation did sound familiar. You suggested an "enhanced cycle mode" a while back
That has some promise too, depending on whether you want total control or live performance abilities...

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#6 BpZ

BpZ

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 August 2014 - 22:31

I don't mean this, I want to emulate korg wavestation sounds, with all sample assigned to full keyrange, but I want that if I play a chord, you ear a sample at a time, just like in wavesequencing. (sorry but I can't attach an xrns or zip example file, dou you know why?)

Look at this.
I use midi yoke as midi master on the 1st inst and slaves the others 3.
 
Midi yoke

Edited by BpZ, 06 August 2014 - 22:43.


#7 LOLFAIL

LOLFAIL

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 296 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:outta space

Posted 07 August 2014 - 07:47

if i get you right then there i made quick example from your samples, you can get full keyrange for each sample by changing basenote for sample in keyzones so you can have like bass + lead + drums in 1 phrase

Attached Files


Edited by LOLFAIL, 07 August 2014 - 07:47.


#8 ballacr75

ballacr75

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cremona - Italy
  • Interests:Music, boomerang, lego, airplane RC.
    http://www.acadballa.com

Posted 08 August 2014 - 07:39

Your example is very good, but I don't mean like that! If you have the opportunity try a real korg wavestation, or korg wavestation vst! thanks


|Emanuele Ballasina|ballacr75|www.acadballa.com|Renoise 3.0.0|Reason 7.1|Yamaha Motif ES 6|plg150an|dx|vl|Yamaha FS1r|Access Virus TI|Kurzweil PC3 61|Nord Stage 2 HA88|Mutable Instruments Shruthi1|Cremona|Italy|