Anyone know anyone that turned there lives around?

so i’m 44 and really lost at the moment
i want to hear stories of people that turned there lives around , and i don’t just mean in the music industry , did they get off the drugs and got a big paid job , they got a small business , some online success , dj in front of 5 thousand people etc

i find sometimes people can be negative in the real world and say “ just accept who you are “ and they put these successful people on a pedestal like it’s not achievable and you have to be born like that , but do we have to believe that if we have always underachieved or had a lack of self belief we always will ? please share some positive stories thank you .

2 Likes

My story takes place over many years and the struggle is still ongoing, but I’ve been seeing light at the end of the tunnel recently. Back in 2009, I graduated with a degree in computer games technology, but when I say I graduated, it was barely. In my final year of school, about the time my dissertation was 3/4 complete, my computer died in such a way that it took out my dissertation project and all my backups since the external drives were plugged in at the time. I started over since I didn’t have a choice, but since I only had months to finish it, it was terrible, and not surprisingly, it was a failure. This caused me to finish my degree with Third Class Honors, which in the Scottish school system is basically just proof that I showed up. I intended to stay in the UK and find a job after graduating, but due to how badly my degree ended and the economy rapidly collapsing around that time, I left for the US feeling I’d just wasted the last 4 years. After being unable to find a job, I eventually joined the military as a linguist since I had always been good at learning new languages.