AKP Import/Export Speculations

I am new to Renoise. I only started my eval of the demo version a few days ago and so far I am highly impressed.
And as a Python software engineer I am pleased to see a well featured group of Moonscript APIs. Well done!

One of my all-time favorite instruments which I have used day in and day out since I bought it new in 1999 is the Akai S6000 sampler. And it’s little buddy the MPC1000.

Soooo, I found this: AKP File Spec
Then started reading around line 1062 in Renoise.Song.API.lua.
Then a lightbulb started to dimly flicker in my head. Are you pondering what I’m pondering Pinky?

It seems feasible to create an import export tool between a Renoise instrument and an Akai Program.
Reading/parsing the .akp file will be the biggest hurdle IMO. But Awave and CDXtract figured it out so it isn’t insurmountable and perhaps their engineers can throw me a bone too.

So that said, what obvious obstacles am I not seeing through my noob glasses?

And importantly, would this be a worthwhile effort? How big a herd would potentially graze here?

Well, just updating this one to the API 4.0 version in Renoise would then do the trick, perhaps checking if the Akasi S6000/S1000 import is still working as desired, else patch it up.
The current version is still Renoise 2.8 and lower so it does not work in 3.0 Beta yet.

Sweet the heavy lifting was done already!
How about an export tool, has that been done already too?
If not, I could use the additional file import support for an example to create it I guess (personally I’m more interested in going that direction).

I’ll checkout the code and as mentioned look into patching it up…

The general problem here is that Renoise has less features than the Akai, so you would lose functionality on the way. I would first ask (again) for an advancement of the Renoise sampler to be on par with an old Akai sampler.

I’m the original author of the Additional File Formats Import tool.