Anybody tried this? Landr

https://www.landr.com/

I’m a little confused.

First I see an iPad mastering app for $20 USD. I thought that was impressive.

Then I read about how difficult mastering is, and how you should only trust a professional mastering guy with your mastering…

Now I see this web app where you can drag & drop a WAV file and it gets mastered for you.

What’s the deal? My audio sounds “better” after using it but I’m not a mastering engineer :slight_smile:

My take on it is that mastering a piece of music is a craft, founded in human decisions.

​The job of a mastering engineer is to manage the sounds from each track in such a fashion that the musical intent of the whole is best presented to the typical listener.

​Some parts of this can be fairly well automated. Ducking the main melody in a club beat every time the bass drum pounds on the beat is not rocket science. Balancing the audio from twenty different microphones taking in an opera with a full orchestra is a highly skilled and very difficult craft, partly because it deals with level management in different tracks to lend emphasis to the parts of the sound which people in the audience would pick up naturally, but which a listener at home lacks the cues to appreciate, or which your typical home sound system won’t elevate enough. Sometimes your main line will be the trumpets playing a very loud fanfare, sometimes it’s a flute and a clarinet playing a delicate duet.

​My main point is that to make those delicate decisions, and execute them, requires an understanding of musical intent and context, which is largely a function of intelligence, which is an unsolved problem in computer science.

​On the other hand, picking out crisp highs and hammering the oontz-oontz-oontz for a club beat is not that hard, and readily automated. I can see how a neural net or genetically trained algorithm could do a decent job of those.