Automate Instrument Meta Controls - Can this be done?

Hi. I’ve been using Renoise on and off for 12+ years, but this is my first post on the forum. I’ve been really getting really back into Renoise recently, and have been exploring new features.

I really enjoy using Renoise more as a synth than a sampler, making sounds from single wave cycles, using the instrument modulations and effects to shape the sounds. (Basically subtractive / wavetable style sythesis.)

I’m trying to achieve a particular thing but so far I can’t find a way to do it, although I can get close, so I was wondering if maybe I have just missed some crucial thing that might get me there…

So, to explain the exact thing I want to achieve: I’m working on an instrument, and I’m in the Effects tab of the instrument editor. I’d like to add an LFO to modulate volume (or filter cutoff, etc). Then, I’d like to add an envelope to control the frequency of the LFO itself so that it changes over time from slow to fast.

As far as I know, there’s no way to automate this in the same way we might automate it in the pattern editor. (Is that correct? Please tell me I’ve just missed something!) I can get quite close to what I want by adding an additional LFO, and using the “custom” modulation envelope editor to draw the envelope I want. The problem I have is that I can’t see a way to sync this slow-to-fast modulation to the actual note trigger such that it retriggers the envelope from the start when I press the note. Instead it just loops constantly, independantly of the note trigger.

Is this something that can be achieved? Perhaps I’ve missed some meta controller or something?

I was thinking / hoping that there could be some kind of meta controller that works basically like a stripped back LFO, with just the custom envelope, and which is synchronised / retriggered by the note trigger event.