Babynoise

Yes, this is actually serious. ;)

I think Renoise should be recompiled in a second version, “Babynoise”, suitable for complete beginners and children. In this version, almost everything would be removed/disabled/not visible. The only thing that would work would be:

1. Using the pattern editor (no volume, no pan)
  2. The pattern arranger, maybe a bit simplified too

Nothing else. Clean interface. Embedded video/flash tutorials and preloaded sound sets.

This way, “Babynoise” could be spread as freeware to schools. Children would learn tracking more easily. And more people would sooner or later buy the full version.

EDIT: Well, load/save song would be enabled too, of course.

shaking head :huh: :rolleyes:

This would be a complete waste of time in my opinion.

Why not, there used to a kids audio sequencer called something like ‘super doper music looper’
My son who is 2 loves Renoise. Start up a new song for at 300bpm chuck in random some samples and he’s the new Squarepusher.

Yeah, what was I thinking? Too much sun here in Sweden right now, so many random ideas pop up in my head. I blame it on that gorgeous blonde woman who wondered what I was doing on my laptop. She even tried Renoise for a few seconds, but then said she didn’t understand anything. So, if Renoise would been easier (“Babynoise”, or maybe “Babenoise”, haha), I might have had better luck with her. Now she probably thought I was too introverted and nerdy. Damn!

:)

Well I’m certainly not against the idea of getting more young kids into tracking (or hot women for that matter!), I didn’t mean to ridicule your idea or anything, but I’m not sure that a modified version of Renoise is the right solution. Mainly just because, hypothetically speaking, it would be eating into development time that should be spent on the real Renoise… which is bad, mmkay! :D