Bad recording quality

I’m getting serious about recording vocals and some other things using a mic. I am running arch linux with a real time kernel, an external soundcard (Scarlett 2in2) and a sE X1 mic. The resulting sounds has lots of pollution. Where it comes from I don’t know. I have tried changing the settings for Sample rate and Buffer size and it clearly affects it to the worse. It seems hard to find the correct setting. Since I’m completely new to this I think it is more likely that I have missed something essential. Any directions as where to go now would be appreciated.

I am pretty certain that the issue is renoise related since recording with audacity works like a charm.

Do you use Jack or Alsa? Just to make sure you use the same sound server for Audacity and Renoise. Can you make a test with Ardour or Reaper? Is it crackling or a hiss noise?

I’m using alsa for both audacity and renoise. ardour also works fine. It is a crackling noise. It distorts the sound completely with extreme values for sample rate and buffer size.

Setup Renoise to use a Jack server and see if it still crackles.

Have you set up realtime privileges for the audio goup in /etc/security/limits?

The command “ulimit -r” will show you if your user can access realtime priorities, it should display something between 90 and 99.

Renoise first tries to set Round-robin scheduling with priority 95. Failing that, it tries to set First in-first out scheduling with priority 99.

I had the same experience when trying to record with ALSA. Audacity worked fine, but Renoise introduced a lot of distortion. Renoise running through JACK was okay.

Thanks for your answers. I had a hard time getting Jack to run at all. Now it seems to work and I am not entirely sure why. Certainly using Jack seems to be essential. I think I will just be happy about it and move on!

1 Like

Sure most people just use the ‘jack’ workaround. But some questions…