Big latency problem :(

Hi guys,
First of all, I’m totally new to Renoise. I just acquired 2.8.
I’m running Renoise on a 2009 Macbook, which has a 2.1 Ghz Core 2 Duo processor and 1 GB of RAM

My goal is to first compose and record my songs in Renoise, including vocals and guitar tracks.
Later I want to perform live; controlling track effects with my Akai MPD32 and singing at the same time (lead vocal track muted, of course).

But I’m already running into a serious problem when I try to record my guitar.

My guitar is plugged into a Tascam US-122 mkII usb audio/midi interface.

When I start recording my guitar parts as a sample, latency and crackling increases drastically and within two minutes, my guitar sounds like it’s distorted by an old Gameboy.

Is there any way to prevent this? This way, I cannot even begin to use Renoise in the way I’d prefer.
I’m considering installing USB Audio Driver for Mac, but I’m just wondering if anyone with a similar setup has had this problem and of course, how it can be solved.

My next step might be to buy a new laptop with a Core i7 processor and lots of RAM and run Ubuntu, maybe things will be more stable (???)

I would avoid springing for a new laptop as the next step in the process, unless you were already looking to get one.

The first thing I would check is the integrity of your audio interface. Is it just the guitar that is distorted, or do vocals recorded with a microphone come out the same way? I don’t own a Mac currently, so I couldn’t really help you if it was a driver issue.

Hi… First thing we have to know, “what is your buffer size?” If you don’t know, that is here in this window, found @ Edit, Preferences, Audio

2nd, “are you using amp sims?” Name, brand, version number, audio unit, or vst?

3rd… Does the tascam manual make a point about installing the driver? Even if you are on mac…