**brand N00b, Tons Of Questions**

Hey Trackers,

I’ve decided to take up learning Renoise as a potential new way of making beats. I just recently downloaded the 2.0 demo and I’ve been having a bit of a hard time picking it up. I’m still very new to it, and still in the midst of learning the basics of the program. However, so far, I am IN LOVE with renoise!

As would be expected, I’ve had some questions come up while learning about it, and I’d love to hear what you chaps have to say about it. Please excuse any naiveté on my part

Here’s my questions:

1. Do people make “normal” electronic music in renoise too i.e. NOT breakcore :D ??
    Are there any examples of such music?

2. Obviously, one of renoise’s strengths is it’s ability to highly edit rhythmic music. How does it do with longer more sustained music? (i.e. “liquid” DnB, Ambient or anything with pads & reverbs) Will decay tails trail out into the next pattern sequence?

3. How is renoise for making twisty “massline” type composite basses that are common in Drum and Bass? Does it work well for this, or is this the wrong tool for the job?

4. How the feck do I control groove to get things like swing, tripleted rhythms, semi tripleted swings, different groove/feel on unique instruments??? I make hip hop tempo/rhythm style music. It HAS TO groove. Do I need to make the BPM like 800 to get the resolution to get my tracks to have amore natural groove to them??? Yes, I already know about the groove thingy in the song settings pane, but it’s a little unintuitive, and I’m looking for a bit more subtlety and control…

5. How Do I layer drums in renoise to make larger composite hits? Is there a way to do this without having to bounce- a la battery or drum racks in ableton?

6. Is there a way to record 2 patterns to 2 tracks at the same time from 1 MIDI controller? For example, I want to record a kick & snare pattern realtime at the same time, but on 2 tracks so that I can mix them individually. How would I do this?