Colors In Mixer

Hey!

Most of my tracks are somewhere between 40-60 tracks, then those goes into 10-12 sub busses, then those go into 3-4 sub busses… which goes into the master. It gets really messy for me in Renoise (I have just recently been playing with the mixer, so I am really a big piece of noob still). Is it possible to color code the various channels somehow?

Also, lets say I have some vocals on track 1 and 2 - I then send these to a send. On the send I put up a reverb. How do I render just the reverb to a sample?

Edit: One more thing. Sometimes it is good to sidechain a channel - using the signal follower - by listening to a silent kick… meaning you cannot hear the kick, but the signal follower still receives the signal. How do I do this?

Any help would be amazing :)

Klaus

@xerxes:

• colors: right-click in mixer > show track colors; right-click in pattern editor > show track colors; you might also find this thread nice to give a +1: https://forum.renoise.com/t/done-2-8-collapsible-channel-grouping/32440
  • rendering the reverb: the send device has a ‘mute source’ option. mute the source for both channels, then render the send track to a sample.
  • silent kick: the signal follower responds to a signal. a silent kick has no signal, so the signal follower won’t do a thing. you could try using the key tracker with both the min/max sliders set to zero, which will give you input no matter what key you play. you could also try the velocity device, where you can just control stuff through the volume channel.

anyone correct me if i’m wrong! xerxes: good luck!

Right click in the main Mixer or Pattern Editor window and select Show Track Colours. This will give you a little coloured bar under the name. There have been various suggestions to make it bolder/more obvious but so far this is all you can do.