Compression For Tone

[15:05] <mr_mark_dollin> The more open the attack on a compressor the more focus the sound has, and inversly so for the release - tighter release more focus.
[15:05] <mr_mark_dollin> But compromise must be made…
[15:06] <mr_mark_dollin> E.g. is that attack too snappy? Trade off some focus to tame the snap.
[15:06] <mr_mark_dollin> Equally so for excessive lowend - Trade off some focus and increase the release to soften the mud.
[15:07] hi mmd
[15:07] <mr_mark_dollin> Heya
[15:07] I never really messed with compression on the master channel until recently
[15:08] been using a low ratio with a slow attack but that’s about as far as I go since I am still learning how to wield a compressor
[15:08] <mr_mark_dollin> I’m not talking mastering btw
[15:08] <mr_mark_dollin> just channel sounds
[15:08] I’m fuckin’ AFRAID of them just about
[15:08] the only time I really use them on channels if if I am riding the fader
[15:09] I will put a compressor there but I don’t know too much about what I am doing
[15:09] or drums
[15:09] 5-ish ratio with a fast attack
[15:09] <mr_mark_dollin> You on PC?
[15:09] if you got any tips for compressing drums
[15:09] Nah, Mac
[15:09] <mr_mark_dollin> Damn, I could have given you some pointers.
[15:09] Using Logic’s built-in compressor
[15:09] <mr_mark_dollin> With ratio setting default to 4:1 - get the other settings right then lastly adjust the ratio
[15:10] <mr_mark_dollin> I can talk you thru some genral tips for drums if you like
[15:10] sure, I would actually like to hear them
[15:11] <mr_mark_dollin> Load up a drum sound, and make sure it is composite of kick snare and some other stuff
[15:11] <mr_mark_dollin> Before doing that make sure the general levels are evenish
[15:11] <mr_mark_dollin> Let me know when you’re ready to go
[15:12] Like make a drum loop?
[15:12] with one-shots?
[15:12] lemme open up renoise
[15:12] <mr_mark_dollin> That will do, but go for something clean and dynamic