CPU Overflow with a BPM of 400 & LPB 256

Hi,

There is a new speed application in renoise 2.0. But when i put the speed to 400 and the ticks to 256 there is an errormessage. It says that it could not function. Because an overload. It is not that my computer is not able to perform at such a speed, because my pc has calculating power enough, i use my pc for calculating phylogenetic trees, and also phylogenetic analysis (i am a biologist and wtih other words, calculating power enough). But is this the right angle? Or do i have to look at my soundcardmemory?

greetzzzzz

A LPB of 256 creates a massive CPU overhead. A Line in the pattern grid comes close to the sample rate resolution in such cases, so no wonder that this is slow.

The question is why you need a LPB of 256?

Should we limit the LPB settings so that no ones tries to use such LPBs?

in my opinion the user should be smart enough to prevent this. also, to reduce CPU load, he could also use F2xx in order to reduce the number of ticks per line. if he is really using LPB 256, there are “chances” that one tick per line (F201) will be enough for him…

What if the user accidentally changes the settings, not noticing before playing the song, and crashing the DAW, and losing their hard work? I’d say there should be a safeguard of some sort to prevent this from happening.

the safeguard is called crash recovery, I think :)

Oh another pseudonym from Frazzbass?? :yeah:

-1, nevar! Hardware will improve and the “problem” will vanish. (Now that I mention it… You need to maximize everything, quickly… before the future arrives!!!11@#)

Renoise doesn’t crash when the CPU overloads, it just stops (unless you turn that off in the prefs of course), right?

High CPU usage doesn’t lead to crashes. “Freezes” are avoided by the auto panic thing we have.

I had to turn that off personally… it was killing some of my songs mid-play when Renoise wasn’t lagging yet.