Daw To Complement Renoise

I’ve been bumbing slightly against the current limitations of Renoise (midi recording and cleanup of notes, non-visual note/audio delays, multi-track sound design and video support) so what inexpensive DAW is good one to complement Renoise, like building songs made from exported patterns, recording audio and syncing audio to video? I’ve been using trackers mostly and I’m not really experienced with DAWs (did some stuff with Sadie and Pro Tools at school) so I thought it better to ask. So far I’ve eyed Reaper and Logic (I’m on Mac), what do you people like and which one doesn’t fight against you?

I use Studio One (by PreSonus). Truly an excellent DAW.

I also use Record/Reason by Propellerhead. Wonderful stuff.

i sometimes use ableton live INTRO with renoise

i also use plogue bidule with the 2
its a good way to get rid of the limited number of vsts you can use with live INTRO

Have you considered motu digital performer. I have read a lot of really good things about it and it runs on mac. It’s apparently really popular with people in the film industry.

1. Open Garageband
  2. Open Renoise,
  3. Answer [YES] to Rewire.

renoise + ardour

renoise and reaper have passionate sex all the time.

Out of curiosity: how does Presonus Studio One compare to other DAWs? Artist version doesn’t have video support and Digital Performer is too pricy for me and probably overkill too.

Ableton Live Lite I do have, but it feels beat-oriented, bit like Renoise (though elastic audio is great) and Ardour doesn’t have video support if I remember right.

I guess I’ll try Reaper and Garageband first (didn’t know that GarageBand has automation curves, color me surprised), thanks everybody!

People ignore Garageband '09, but it’s unusually versatile and powerful. For starters, click “Track → Show Movie Track” and you got your movie track.

The interface is clunky and noobish, but when you ReWire it to Renoise, you get a very great combo iMHO.