Dedicated renoise controller

Hey people,
A few months ago I bought a hardware sequencer/ sampler (mpc live) and I started making music with it. A few days after having bought that, I saw a teaser of polyend tracker and I thought that it would be something that I could work with.

Today, after some time, I booted renoise and although It is the environment I adore making music on, I felt it has lacking the tacktile, hands on approach the dedicated boxes have.

I am sure that the qwerty keyboard is one of the fastest input methods, and If somebody knows the key shortcuts very well, the whole process can be very fast. Still you still need to grab the mouse say for adding or tweaking effects, which it felt like a drag, unintuitive and uninspiring.

Now, I am a programmer and I have some basic knowledge of electronics and I though that maybe it could be possible to create a dedicated controller for renoise.
For that I wanted to ask if somebody knows, what are the methods, apart from keyboard, midi and osc you can communicate with renoise, is there an api for that or something or you’ll just have to simulate keystrokes with your controller? Do you know how the “dedicated” controllers work? Do they send midi messages to the daw they work with, or does anything else happen?

Cheers!

2 Likes

Great idea, I’d love to see something like this

i agree with you for everything. And yet i’ve dumped mpc for renoise… because nowadays i cannot spend 3 hours fiddling with drums and layering, nudging notes on the mpc lcd, yet i still miss the fluid workflow… both have pros and cons…

1 Like

It’d be cool to have both at the same time though

1 Like

There is a Lua API and a built-in script editor that is hidden by default. Search the docs about how to activate it. It includes the documentation and examples.

The most common way that you would integrate new controllers is adding them into the Duplex tool which is a common code-base for communicating with midi-controllers.