Does anybody here use Renoise for multitrack recording of hardware?

Hello Renoise gang,

I currently own an Elektron Digitone which I bought to use away from the desk that I am at for 8 hours a day at work, to jam ideas on and then hopefully record into my DAW and edit, sequence and add to. I was using Reason 11 until recently but I sold the licence and the only DAW I now own is Renoise which is fine - I love Renoise and I am still learning new things every day. With the money from selling Reason and a bonus I have just found out I am getting from work I am looking into getting a Digitakt to go with my Digitone.

I am lucky in so far as the Elektron stuff uses the Overbridge VST to connect to DAW and can do audio over USB, I have managed to set up a template for the Digitone to stream it’s four tracks into four tracks in Renoise and apply FX to each one, as well as one master track for automating pattern changes and some automation of parameters. But I am yet to try and commit anything to audio and with any further hardware I decide to get this problem will be compounded. I am tempted to just only bounce to audio when finishing the song, rather than bouncing clips and bits and pieces.

Does anybody else multitrack hardware with Renoise? If/when I get a Digitakt I will need to create a further 9 tracks (one master pattern change, 8 audio tracks). I am loathe to move DAW after simplifying down to just Renoise and am looking for input from anybody else who uses hardware. Part of me also things that perhaps I should separate my hardware endeavours from my software but I think that limits me in some ways, each can compliment the other - it’s just a case of figuring it all out. I have also considered selling my Digitone and using my money for a faster PC to run, dare I say it, more than one instance of Diva (shocked Pikachu.jpeg).

Thanks and sorry for the long post, I felt it necessary to spell out what I do and will need to get the best advice.

3 Likes