"Fading" between Renoise Instances

I was wondering if it was possible to use a MIDI fader (say from an AKAI APC40 or Livid OHM type controller) to essentially fade two instances of Renoise. I am pretty new to MIDI mapping in general, but I was wondering if there needed to be some kind of external MIDI routing to achieve this, maybe assigning one Renoise app to always be the “left” and one to always be the “right” and just assigning the controller accordingly?

Even better would be using the fader, bringing the level up from one instance to the other, all the while, the controller basically assigning itself to the next instance so you don’t have to touch the computer as much. That’s probably extremely far-fetched, but would be awesome to achieve. I’m trying to use Renoise to do some live sets, but switching from one instance to another is extremely tricky. I’ve seen those Hitori Tori videos, but I’m not really sure how to achieve what he’s doing.

Anybody have any experience with something like this? Thanks!

Hi serv!

What do you mean by the word “instance”?With the MIDI input you can easily switch between patterns, tracks, lines, note columns, instruments, or move between different tabs (pattern editor, matrix, mixer, instrument editor…). Even with a specific tool you can change the VSTi presets, if he is compatible.Can you give an exact example of what you need to do?

By two “instances” I mean two “copies” of Renoise open, here’s a video demonstrating having several open at the same time:

And basically, what I want to do is use these two copies of Renoise so I can transition smoothly between songs in a live set by say, fading out and muting channels from one instance and bringing in channels and patterns from another so that they flow together, touching my keyboard and mouse as little as possible.

If the driver for your MIDI controller allows multiple running instances, it’s not a problem to map Renoise songs to it.