Frequency spectrum vertical side ruler display

If I play a pure 100Hz sine wave (full peak to peak +1 -1), 0db track headroom and display this in the frequency spectrum, I get:
sineruler
I’m no expert in this (I could’ve missed something obvious), but should that drawn peak be a bit more closer to 0db? Rather than graphically displaying about -15.75db according to that ruler(?) I can understand +0.3db or -0.5db off when run through the algorithm and drawn, but -15.75db? Sure it is probably just a graphical thing (no detriment to the sound), I still kinda get the feeling that that is…

Not sure, but I guess you have to calculate the integral.

Found this: https://dsp.stackexchange.com/questions/32076/fft-to-spectrum-in-decibel

So, you are right. It should be at 0 dBFS or -3dB respectively as written in the thread.

1 Like

I think the short answer is “FFT amplitude is reduced in practice by the use of windows.”

1 Like

If it was me writing a no slope frequency plot routine my gut instinct would be that it registers close to 0db from a musicians perspective. But I’m no expert and it isn’t my program, so I suppose it doesn’t matter.

So… If a 0dB sine would be plotted correctly on a spectrum, the line would be so thin that you couldn’t see it.

But with a full mix or sound, you will get a good visual representation of the amount of energy within a range? (it’s not like the slopes add up to result in a misrepresentation?)

I think the analyzer wastes a lot of space on the top. No track ever reaches 0dB in a specific frequency, and if so, it is too loud, so why not also visually “clip” it then? Esp. this is not possible if the track headroom is set to -6dB. The analyzer could be a bunch smaller, so wasting less GUI space and still looking fine.

At least it could start to cutoff from top and bottom if you scale it down vertically really much.