Get+Change Patternsteps?

been looking through the API to find how to do this. i’m still learning this scripting-stuff, so i might have overlooked it. as mentioned before, the documentation has no real layout and it can be hard to find a specific thing, so i might have missed it. what i want to do is this:

i figured it would come in handy to have a tool that allows you to change the patternsteps (patternlength) of a selection of patterns through the Pattern Matrix. so change multiple patterns at once. i’ve gotten as far as adding the tool to the right-click menu of the Pattern Matrix, and can make a nice dialog with a valuebox and stuff (yes, that’s as far as i got, i told you i’m a noob :).
however, i’m can’t seem to find a property containing the patternsteps (64,128, etc). does this exist? or do i have to use some pattern-iterator-trick to get to this value? and if so, how can i change it?

In: Renoise.Song.API.lua

renoise.song().patterns[].number_of_lines, _observable
-> [number]

Example:

renoise.song().patterns[1].number_of_lines = 128  

Replace [1] above, with any valid pattern index.

Because Renoise is C++ but the API is Lua, Pattern 0 = Lua 1, Pattern 1 = Lua 2, Pattern 2 = Lua 3…

Good luck,

@conner_bw: thanks a hell of a lot!

this time, i did my homework, seeing that the answer to my previous question could be found in the documentation.

i want to get the selected patterns in the Pattern Matrix. i’ve found these options:

-- The currently edited pattern track. Never nil.   
-- Use selected_pattern_index_observable for notifications.  
renoise.song().selected_pattern  
 -> [read-only, renoise.Pattern object]  

-- The currently edited pattern track object. Never nil.   
-- Use selected_pattern_index_observable  
-- and selected_track_index_observable for notifications.  
renoise.song().selected_pattern_track  
 -> [read-only, renoise.PatternTrack object]  

-- The currently edited pattern index