Getting A Mac.

So I sold my sony vaio and have some other money as well. I have an opteron desktop at home, but I need to get a mac for school and figured it would be nice to have another solid OS hanging around as well. But basically I’m hung up on getting a new intel mac or picking up a late model G4. I’m torn on waiting for new intel binaries for all my NI software or just getting straight to work with a g4 powerbook, but having less power in the long run. I go to the apple store on the 20th to go splurge my savings. What do you guys think about the pros and cons of this stupid little dillema? Anybody have a macbook pro and are using renoise and other software- what about soundcards? Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I’m new to the whole mac deal.

shit. sorry- shoulda posted in the off topic.

Hey Louis,

Go with the intel (macbook pro). It is SO much faster than the G4/G3. I was doing some video editing last week and it’s unreal. Renoise runs great. As far as NI, they said they are working on a universal binary right now. But, You’ll have a lot less VSTi choices than on PC.

oh and in d-town news, did you go to the Caffeine rave? it was great. :D

Well, I guess the deal is sealed! I met this hot chick at the art institute who works at the apple store in cherry creek- she’s going to hook me up with a student discount as well as her employee discount. So I should be getting a new mactell with the duo 1.83ghz proc and upgraded ram (1 gig), as well as logic 7.2 express pro- all for 1600 bucks out the door. Then she asked me if I wanted to go out with her sometime. :yeah:

hah! nice one B)

just make sure she doesnt eat into your creativity time ;)