Getting Started With Hardware

I never used (MIDI-)hardware with a DAW before but I’m interested to at least control my soft synths and effects with a hardware controller. What kind of audio interface is preferable for connecting say 2-3 MIDI devices to my laptop? Today everything works with USB, I guess? I really never got interested in this hardware stuff before so I’m a total noob concerining this stuff. 0:)

I just need some basic starting points to be clear about what I might need for the beginning.

Well, if you just want to control VSTs/AUs/whatever and/or Renoise itself, you don’t need any special “audio interface” at all (unless you own hardware with a “classic” MIDI-Port).
As you said, it’s all USB nowadays. :)

Just plug in the controller, install drivers if necessary and the fun starts.
The number of devices is just limited by the number of available USB-ports and can easily be expanded with a simple cheapo USB-hub…

You’ll probably want to start off with ONE device, because you can change the instrument/fx that is controlled anytime. In addition to that, the mappings are saved in the song btw, so you’ll have individual setups for each song. Just saying this, because you mentioned 2-3 devices… :o
But you CAN use more devices at the same time of course (Renoise handles up to 4 midi input devices atm)…!

I suggest that you’ll start with a multifunctional controller i.e. it has a keyboard for instruments and some knobs and faders for other functions. For example, i started with a M-Audio Oxygen 49 (you’ll maybe want to go for a Oxygen 25, as you’re running a laptop and this is more portable).

Hope this helped a bit…

EDIT: typos <_<