Good practice re-making songs?

As i’m a beginner i’m wondering what you guys think about remaking existing songs as a practice?

I’m sure some of you guys done this!

Am I right?

Yeah sometimes it’s nice to attempt doing something like that.
Just to get an idea of how to create a certain mood or style and also for the challenge of getting the instruments matching.
I usually don’t release those training-songs. But here is a rare one i did release:

Yeah of course, especially if you’re all out of ideas for composing something new… which happens to me a lot lately :confused: Sometimes i’ll add my own ideas, and little by little change it to the point that it does turn into an original tune, or at least parts of it =)

Vv: nice sounds in that one, especially the lead synth! The tune sounds vaguely familiar, but i can’t remember where it’s from…

when I am out of ideas, I usually remake my very old songs I did when I was using FastTracker, starting from the XM file loaded into Renoise. The starting is quite tedious since I have to rearrange all the notes in tracks and groups, but then the fun starts: experiment with new instruments and try to expand melodies and structure.

I usually manage to complete these kind of projects and release the new song; sometimes they are similar to the original, but most of the times new parts emerge from the old structure and a couple of times the new length of the song resulted to be three times bigger than the original…!