Halp! My reese bass sounds too boxy..

I’ve tried the usual EQ, swept with a notch filter, etc. but whenever I remove what sounds like mud I also lose a lot of the punch.
Any tips on making this better?

Thanks in advance.

http://soundcloud.com/justanotherreplicant/boxy-reese

I’m no expert, but some things to try out could be:

Two band compression. Maybe set the attack to something like 30ms on the high band to let the pick (higher frequencies) pump. Use a more limiting approach on the lower end to tame those frequencies to exactly the right level (they consume a lot of energy).
Use subtractive EQ in the lo-mids. That might be enough EQ:ing in many cases.
A clever trick is to use parallel distortion. Set up a dist with 100% dry and just very very little wet. This will add high frequencies to the bass. Judge from listening to the mix and not when listening solo.
Also, I like sidechaining kick/bass. I think of it as a way to simulate what mixing that would have been possible with a better arrangement ;)

Last but not least is probably to make sure that nothing else is masking any important frequencies of the bass.
A final resort, that will make anything shine but might come at a cost, is to find a good preset to dub the instrument with.

EDIT: I listened to your track now. I can hardly hear any tone in your bass. It’s almost atonal. I might have tried improving the instrument by dubbing with a low sine. This bass probably needs improvement “at the source”? … Also, did you put reverb on the bass? That seems dangerous.

Try boosting the low frequencies around 40-80 hz, or you can layer another sound like a sine or square wave for the low end.

How is someone supposed to tell what to change, if none can see, what you’ve done (probably wrong) in your setup?