Headphone Recommendations

Hello everyone,

New Renoise user here. I like a simplified set-up, and I’m a hobbyist with kids, so I prefer to keep my music gear as a laptop and a set of headphones. What headphones would be ideal in this arrangement, with Renoise being my primary way of working?

thanks,

DJ

What’s your price range?

Realistically, $100 or so.

I have and like a set of Audio-Technica ATH-M50x. Pretty flat response so they’re good (enough) for when you can’t have actual studio monitors.

1 Like

Koss porta pro
it is cheap and ugly but very comfortable, my fav headphone
middle and high are moderate / bass are bombastic

1 Like

I am happy with beyerdynamic dt770 pro for the purpose of using renoise on a laptop. Very good bass, not too much of it, and detailed enough for some simple mixing tasks.

2 Likes

I have the same set as OopslFly and i’m quite happy with it. Very comfortable, quite sturdy and detailed sound.
I have porta pro’s, and they’re ok for listening in quiet suroundings, but i would never mix with those.

I also can recommend the Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro. But if you want use it directly plugged into the laptop or an USB audio interface, then i prefer the 80 ohms or even the 32 ohms model. Because the 250 ohms would be too quiet because this is more for users who use it with power amps in pro studios.

1 Like

Thanks everyone! I will look into all of your recommendations : )

Just a follow up, and not that important because I can’t afford it anyways but,

Am I missing out on much by plugging headphones directly into laptop and trying to produce good-sounding music? As opposed to plugging into a power amp/audio interface? I plan to be only using plugins, no hardware synths.

Hey,
using a headphone amp is definitely recommended when working with high impedance headphones (> 150 ohm), since not only will the signal get louder but the drivers will produce their specified spectrum. Otherwise the sound can lack low end and clarity.