Help With Rewire: "No Rewire Devices Available"

Trying to connect Renoise to Logic this way:

1. Open Logic (Version: Express 8) and an existing project.
  2. Open Renoise (latest version), and I click YES on the question on startup.
  • So far it seems Renoise uses the correct BPM etc.
  1. Add Rewire device into a track.
  • But it says “No Rewire devices available”

Anyone who know what I’m doing wrong?

If you open Renoise as slave, it won’t be able to control other ReWire hosts as Logic is the Master in this case, The ReWire device is a Master device.

I’ve tried the other way around; Logic being Slave to Renoise Master, with the exact instructions as you specify.

Sure that the problem is Logic then?

Edit: I think I got it to work now, by choosing Renoise as Input in an AUX channel in Logic. (Renoise is Slave, Logic Master)
Well, I’m new to this. :P

That can work yes, but that also involves host specific actions and procedures to follow.

If you want Renoise to be the master in your unaltered last reply, then you have to start renoise without having any other host active and load Logic through the ReWire device inside Renoise (do not start Logic manually after you have started Renoise)

I have a quick question in regards to rewire as well… I’m a long time Live user and want to use Live as a master and Renoise as a slave so I can use Lives midi effects and my VSTs that send out midi data to control devices in Renoise. My problem is I cant figure it out… I’ve rewired Live to Reason many times and have had no issues but I cant get Live’s MIDI tracks to see Renoise at all. Is there something I’m doing wrong or is this just not something that Live+Renoise is able to do…?

Thanks in advance, and I’m sorry if this has been covered befor…I’ve been searching for this answer for a week now :(

.agent