How Do I Get The Sound From Kontrol49 To My Daw?

Hi All,

I’m a newbie to the forum and to setting up my Kontrol49 that I bought used recently. I know this will sound really stupid, but I’m trying to get the embedded sounds (mood, minimoog, etc) out to my DAW app (FL Studio) and am having a real terrible time making that happen. I can go the other way and have the Kontrol49 control the sounds I can select in my DAW (like from a piano, or other instrument in the app) but for the life of me I cannot get the scenes from my Kontrol49 to be heard in the app. I can open the Kontrol49 librarian and I can drag/drop the Moog k4s file to the control pad and load it up fine. But when I go to use that from the Control Pad to my app so I can hear Moog in the app - no joy. I’ve also tried this in LMMS (free app) and no joy there either. I’m controlling my Kontrol49 via USB-Midi and it seems to work great in one direction. I’ve been through various midi settings and I’m confused what I should use for the control and what I use for the In/Outs for Midi, too.

If anyone has any immediate suggestions that I can start playing with, please do reply to this thread. Ultimately this is for my teenage daughter - she’s the one that bought the keyboard…I’m just the geek Dad that’s gotten it to work in one direction (to the app playing from the keyboard) but befuddled how to get the Korg Kontrol49 ‘sounds’ or ‘scenes’ to play on the app. MANY THANKS FOR YOUR HELP WITH THIS!!

Marty

Well at least you’ve given us a hint your on Linux although you’ve provided no real details of your setup whatsoever to help us with trying to help you out!