How do i stop tool manifest.xml from being forced into 6 - i.e. stay in 5

I use an old and new version of Renoise (due to needing 32bit Renoise for plugins to work at all).

Every time I accidentally boot up the new version of Renoise (cos, yay, new!), all my tools are sabotaged into version 6 on manifest.xml.

how do I stop new-Renoise from doing this, and retain version 5?

Aren’t tools kept in versioned folders? Tools in, say “\Renoise\V3.2.1\Scripts\Tools” should be distinct from those in “\Renoise\V2.8.0\Scripts\Tools”

When you install the new version of Renoise 3.2.0 / 3.2.1, the installer will review and make a new copy of the scripts (import), keeping the originals in their original folder. Each version will have its original script version. The new versions will be updated to API6. The old ones will remain intact for the previous versions.
I think it works like this in Windows 10.

What are the exact Renoise versions and OS you’re using?

That’s my experience.