How To Make Renoise Nearly Perfect (XM, MOD, IT export)

Hi, I am just starting to track. I have been following the demoscene for 7 years, but never took the initiative to create my own music until recently. I just wanted to share some thoughts about Renoise…

First of all, I’m enjoying using it, I am finding it really easy to learn, probably because I have not used any other tracker before (except for Nitrotracker for the Nintendo DS). Even though I am just a noob, I still for some reason feel nostalgic for .mod’s , .xm’s, .it’s, .sid’s and whatever else exists, due to all the great music that I have had the pleasure of hearing in those respective formats.

So it seems that Renoise is here to replace the old trackers… I have no problem with that, except for the lack of one feature, which is as you may have already guessed, the ability to export to .mod, .xm, .it, or whatever. I am no coder but I will make an assumption right now and guess that if a software can read a certain file format then it should be able to write it as well. I have read the reasons behind this move, but I still see this as a limitation. Without intending any insult to the authors whatsoever I will make the following description: Seems kind of Microsofty to me. What really makes Renoise a great software as far as I know is its easy user interface and features that level it next to “professional” sequencers while still retaining the tracking format. If Renoise really is the superior software that people claim it to be , then there can’t be much danger in having compatibility with other tracking programs. I perceive that this exclusion of exporting to classical formats as having a consequence of eventually making them extinct.