How to "unlink" tracks. What have I done? XD

Hello all, I’m new to Renoise although I used to track on the Amiga and later using Buzz. However I have a real n00b question.

I’ve got two tracks both playing different notes on the same instrument, the SuperTriangle to be precise. I have a feeling that may matter somehow.

The notes on both pattern tracks are being output to a single audio track. So I am playing notes on both Track 01 and Track 02, but all the sound comes out of Track 02. This is getting in my way because I actually want to pan the tracks separately.

I suspect that the reason all audio is rendered in one place is because the instrument has an effect chain. So ReNoise is being clever and just running one effect chain instead of two. Kind of makes sense, but it isn’t what I want!

UPDATE: It gets weirder, because this only happens when the notes are simultaneous. If the notes are separate in time, ie not on the same row, then Track 01 and Track 02 start making separate sounds!

Have I done something crazy or is this default behaviour? If it’s the default, can I control/deactivate it?

I assume you’re using a VST as an instrument. In this case this behavior is normal. If you want the same VST instrument to be played in two different tracks you need to duplicate the instrument first. Use the original instrument in track 1 and the duplication of it in track 2. You can duplicate the instrument in your instrument window by clicking on it with your right mouse button and select duplicate. Or you can select the instrument window by holding CTRL and press TAB until the window is selected and then hold CTRL and press D (which stands for duplicate).

If you’re using samples as an instrument you don’t need to duplicate it if you want to use it in several tracks. In this case Renoise behaves like SoundTracker, NoiseTracker, ProTracker and all the other trackers you already know from the good, old Amiga times.

3 Likes

Hi TNT, thanks for replying!