Howto: Use Cubase And Renoise Together

Hi Everybody. This is my first attempt of helping fellow Renoise users so I hope you all find it useful. I apologise if my use of jargon isn’t 100% but hey…

Purpose:
The purpose of this tutorial is to allow Cubase users to compose VST tracks using Renoise. Before you start you will need the following:

1. Cubase SX - thats what I used
  2. Renoise 1.9.1 is what I have at the moment
  3. Midi Yoke (get this from http://www.midiox.com/))

If you manage to follow my tutorial successfully, you’ll be able to click on Play or Record in Cubase and Renoise will start playing at the same time. Renoise will send midi commands to Cubase and Cubase will play the VSTs assigned to the Cubase tracks using the pattern data in Renoise.

You will be able to record Renoise pattern data as Midi events in Cubase. The main achievement (for me) is that you will be able to use Cubase to do multiple-take recording of your very bad guitar playing instead of using the limited record functionality of the Renoise Sample Editor.

Installation & Configuration
The first thing to do is download and install MidiYoke. MidiYoke is a means of creating virtual midi input/outputs. This allows you to direct the midi output of Renoise to Cubase and pipe the midi clock synchronisation through to Renoise from Cubase. Cubase is always the ‘master’ in this setup.

After installing MidiYoke, start Cubase and Renoise.

Configuring Renoise

In Renoise, select Edit->Preferences… and click on the Midi tab/icon. In the Midi Clock Master section, change the Out Device to one of the Midi Yoke Channels. I used “Out To Midi Yoke: 2” in my setup. Check all four checkboxes in this section.

In the Midi Clock Slave section, change the In Device to “In From Midi Yoke: 1”.