I Am A Total Noob, Please Help!

Hello everyone :)

I have been wanting to make my own music for quite awhile and have tried many demos but have never quite understood how to do it. I listened to a friend’s song he made on Renoise so I downloaded the demo and messed with it a bit (following the video tutorial). I made some beats but I find that I have no clue what to do next.

Honestly I really do not know whats going on. What is Renoise? What is it supposed to do? Is it used to record music or make music? Ideally I would like to have a bunch of noises I get to manually mess with and put them together in a techno-ish song. There were some cool beats I found in the demo but I couldn’t find any high pitched noises to use for a melody (but I did find a piano but didn’t know what to do with it).

Can you make entire songs on Renoise or are you supposed to plug something into it like a keyboard?

Thanks for the patience I will probably have many questions because I finally want to learn how to make my own songs no matter how long it takes!

Communist ^_^

Your best bet is to read the manual from front to back
Then you can also find a bunch of tutorial videos on the WIKI but also on you tube (Just search Renoise)

The very very basics of a tracker are
Load samples and arrange them using the pattern editor to make a bunch of patterns that you then arrange into a song
Like i say that is the very very very basics

You can use your computers qwerty keyboard to play samples much like a musical keyboard

Once you have that side of things worked out you can look into the much deeper side of things like VST plugins for synths and FX and the very very deep side like pattern commands for ultimate control over samples

May also be worth your while to search through Google for basic tracker tutorials

It looks very complicated at first but you soon get used to it and once you do it is very intuitive

Bungle