I Am Puzzled By A Problem With Return

I’m a beginner so maybe I am missing something obvious. Anyone know what the problem is here? (see the capitalized comments) Is it a bug?

function next_line_from(sequence, line)  
 local pattern = renoise.song().sequencer.pattern_sequence[sequence]  
 if line == renoise.song().patterns[pattern].number_of_lines then  
 if sequence + 1 > table.getn(renoise.song().sequencer.pattern_sequence) then  
 return "END"  
 else  
 sequence = sequence + 1  
 line = 1  
 end  
 else  
 line = line + 1  
 end  
 return sequence, line  
end  

local steps = 1  

function next_note_from(sequence, line)  
 local n_sequence, n_line = next_line_from(sequence, line)  
 if n_sequence == "END" then return "END" else  
 if renoise.song().patterns[renoise.song().sequencer.pattern_sequence[n_sequence]].tracks[renoise.song().selected_track_index]:line(n_line).note_columns[renoise.song().selected_note_column_index].is_empty == false then  
 return n_line -- THIS DOES NOT WORK  
-- print(n_line) -- THIS WILL WORK  
 else  
 steps = steps + 1  
 next_note_from(next_line_from(sequence, line))  
 end  
 end  
end  

function main()  
 print(next_note_from(renoise.song().selected_sequence_index, renoise.song().selected_line_index)) -- THIS DOES NOT WORK  
 -- next_note_from(renoise.song().selected_sequence_index, renoise.song().selected_line_index) -- THIS WILL WORK TOGETHER WITH PRINT ABOVE  
end  

main()  

It should work the same way this does:

function test1()  
 local a = 1  
 return a  
end  

function test2()  
 print(test1())  
end  

test2()  

Any help is much appreciated.

It seems that “return n_line” returns nil, but it is printable before that. Is something strange happening regarding datatypes maybe?

Variables don’t have a fixed datatype in LUA so that would seem a little strange.