I Shudder To Do This, But...

I’ve been slightly using Renoise for around 7 months now, taking long breaks from it but still learning my way around it. I’m by no means an accomplished apprentice, and I’d barely even call myself a competent novice.

Anyways, I’ve made a few songs that I was mildly pleased with, but recently made a song that I was very proud of.

Naturally, just because I’m proud of it doesn’t mean it’s not shit.

Therefore, I’d like a bit of feedback.

My friends that I’ve showed it to seemed enthusiastic about it, but friends tend to lie.

Few disclaimers:

1. This is not “tap your foot to” music, it’s more of a soundscape to me. Once again, please don’t think that I’m trying to give the impression I’m a skilled artist, etc. just know that this has long build-ups, etc.

2. This is my first ‘release’, etc. ever with Renoise, so please…be gentle. :P I want honesty, and I more than realize that you have all heard MUCH better, but keep in mind that this is the first work I’ve been more than slightly obsessed with.

3. What I really need help on is how to mix the sounds together properly. I used earbuds to mix it first, because my room-mate certainly does not want to hear the same song over-and-over-and-over. Lord knows I’m getting tired of the damn thing now. :P Anyways, I played it on my other sound system with a subwoof, and it sounded horrible. I fixed it up as best I could so it sounded nearly the same in the earbuds and on the sound system, but I’m sure that I’ve failed horribly simply because I have a novice ear.

4. Yes, the song title is ridiculously cliche. That’s how I like 'em, sometimes. :P

Uh, that’s all I can think of now.

I shall now go to prepare to make another username so I can hide the shame and embarassment of showing you all this song. :(

“Six Six Mix” - Burn the Medic

Welcome Clovis.

You’ve certainly done OK here for a first release! This is nice game music methinks, sneaking around in the dark 90s industrial style.