I'm evaluating Renoise. Help needed!

Hi,

A friend of mine recommend Renoise. At first, as most of the users, I cursed the interface (my friend laugh till today). But bit by bit I’m getting used to it. However, I work heavily with MIDI files, from creating chords progression to drum patterns. So, my thoughts are:

1. Renoise is not MIDI “friendly”, is that correct?
  2. If the above is correct, how do you write your chords? How do you overcome the use of MIDIs?
  3. If #1 is correct, it means that Renoise is more sample based and MIDI is not its thing. Is that correct?
  4. I’m into synthwave production. Is that a style that Renoise can do?

Sorry, if those questions are dumb, but trackers are new to me and I still don’t know what they can do, and how they do things. So, any help here will be very appreciated.

Cheers,
Castle

Im pretty new to Renoise so hopefully some of the more seasoned veterans can chime in.

Will try to add some answers inline:

1) Renoise is not MIDI “friendly”, is that correct?
It is more MIDI friendly than any of my previous trackers.
it handles MIDI Out with ease, no problems controlling external gear so far!
it does MIDI in, but the real benefit to a tracker is composing your notes in the tracker.

2) If the above is correct, how do you write your chords? How do you overcome the use of MIDIs?
I just put a note in each column …also there is a good tool for doing chords called ‘chordgun’.

3) If #1 is correct, it means that Renoise is more sample based and MIDI is not its thing. Is that correct?
You can use samples or vst’s. but samples of waveforms too.

4) I’m into synthwave production. Is that a style that Renoise can do?
Yes, quite well in fact.

Recommend to check out some tracker tunes and see how they are made;
we have some legendary composers on the forum and perhaps if you had
a look at some of their amazing works you might get the idea more quickly.

Hope this helps. Have fun tracking!

1 Like

Hi,