inserting notes into a pattern

Hello All,

I’m completely new to lua and Renoise’s API. I’m currently trying to get start with my first script, but there is one API command that is eluding me.

Inserting notes on a track within a pattern

Or to be more specific:

If I wanted to insert a “C-4” note from the first instrument “00” on line “00” of the first track of pattern “0”, what would be the command for that?

I’ve been looking for this one line of code in the documentation and i can’t seem to find anything close to it.

So, far I know how to access notes within a track, but I have no idea how to write them (using lua that is)

Please Help!!!

local note_col = renoise.song():pattern(1):track(1):line(1):note_column(1)

note_col.note_value = 48
note_col.instrument_value = 0
local note_col = renoise.song():pattern(1):track(1):line(1):note_column(1)

note_col.note_value = 48
note_col.instrument_value = 0

Thank you … Much Obliged

Well, I remember when I started learning these things, I also had similar doubts.I would say that the main problem is knowing how to interpret the available API, that is, the available documentation…

To access the note column, you can do it in 3 ways. The documentation is this:

1)For the selected note column (this is the most direct way):

renoise.song().selected_note_column

–Find this line in the documentation and have it located!!!

Thus, you can modify any property of the selected note column:

renoise.song().selected_note_column:clear()

renoise.song().selected_note_column.note_value = 48

renoise.song().selected_note_column.instrument_value = 0

etc.

1. Now, if you want to access a specific note column (not precisely the selected note column):

renoise.song().patterns.tracks.lines.note_columns

–Find this line in the documentation and have it located!!!

renoise.song().patterns[index].tracks[index].lines[index].note_columns[index]