Instruments

I’m new to the program and to music production in general. I am just playing around with this prog for the simple enjoyment of sitting in front of my computer and making some noise enjoyable to me. However I can’t figure this prog. out for the life of me. I’m getting the hang of loading samples and what not, but what’s the deal with instruments. Like having a keyboard to play or a sax or bass or trumpet that can be played with the keyboard? How do you people get your sounds into REnoise? Look at it as a chance to brag about how smart you are about renoise and really spoon feed me how to get started playing around with this prog. the tutorials don’t help for jack for me.

The instruments are formed by the samples you load into it or just by the VSTI you select for it. (Or even when you select a MIDI instrument)
An instrument slot is the key to defining your instrument type and compilation. You can even combine them (A VSTI with samples and possibly with MIDI, but you will experience delay issues between the various types as well)

The controls of your instruments can either be done from your PC keyboard

or your MIDI keyboard if you have configured a MIDI or Master-keyboard device in Renoise.

If you use just one sample, then it is fairly easy to use it in your song.
If you have a more complex instrument like a saxophone or an electric guitar, it is better to use more samples of the same instrument on different key-notes. The more different sample snippets you use (different key-recordings) the more realistic your instrument will sound.
The place how to load multiple samples and define their usage to the key-ranges you want them to be played are described here:
http://tutorials.renoise.com/?n=Renoise.UsingSamples